Large special exhibition 2025

Planetarische Bauern

Planetarische Bauern (Planetary Peasants) – Large special exhibition from May to September 2025 at the Kunstmuseum Moritzburg Halle (Saale)

The year 2025 marks the 500th anniversary of the end of the German Peasants' War and of Thomas Müntzer's death. Against this backdrop, Werkleitz is inviting 15 international artists and collectives to develop new works during a residency in Saxony-Anhalt. These will be presented at the Kunstmuseum Moritzburg Halle (Saale) in a joint exhibition with the Kunstmuseum Moritzburg from May to September 2025.

Five hundred years ago, the 'common people' – farmers, craftsmen and miners – rose up in the German countryside against the feudal authorities in power at the time. These uprisings, which were bloodily suppressed in May 1525, have gone down in history as the Peasants' War and are regarded as the first revolution on German soil. Today, farmers in Germany are rising up against restrictive EU laws and subsidy cuts. The distance in time and content seems great. However, some of the central points of the struggles of that time are once again – or still – highly relevant, especially if the perspective is extended beyond Germany and the EU: appropriation of land at the expense of local populations, unfair distribution of costs and profits, the fight against the privatization of common goods, the call for social and climate justice. In addition, environmental changes caused by agriculture – such as nitrogen enrichment through over-fertilization, displacement of wild plants and animals, soil depletion, water shortages and CO2 emissions – have now gone from being regional to planetary factors.

Some of the most important sites and places of remembrance of the historic Peasants' War, which is closely associated with the name of the preacher and militant Luther antipodean Thomas Müntzer, are located in central Germany. Werkleitz takes this as an occasion for a contemporary, artistic investigation that deals with the preconditions and open questions of the historical occurrences as well as with the social, economic and material conditions of today's globalized agriculture and its planetary impacts.

For the development of new artistic productions, Werkleitz is in talks with Kateryna Aliinyk (UA/DE), Lara Almarcegui (ES/NL), Mabe Bethonico (BR/CH), Tega Brain (AU/US), Viktor Brim (DE), Chto Delat (RU/DE), Alice Creischer & Andreas Siekmann (DE), Gauri Gill (IN), Tamás Kaszás (HU), Luisa Keintzel (DE), Lutz & Guggisberg (CH), Ilona Németh (HU/SI), Åsa Sonjasdotter (SE/DE), Total Refusal (AT) and Michael Wang (US).

Planetarische Bauern (Planetary Peasants)
Artist residencies in Saxony-Anhalt 2024
Large special exhibition at the Kunstmuseum Moritzburg Halle (Saale), May - September 2025

A cooperation between Kulturstiftung Sachsen-Anhalt (Cultural Foundation Saxony-Anhalt) and Werkleitz, in collaboration with the Kunstmuseum Moritzburg Halle (Saale).

Planetarische Bauern (Planetary Peasants) is presented as part of the decentralized state exhibition Saxony-Anhalt Gerechtigkeyt. Thomas Müntzer and 500 years of the Peasants' War.

Partner

Funders

Hauptkategorie:

projekt

Werkkategorie:

Ausstellung

Veranstaltungskategorie:

Stipendienkategorie:

Große Sonderausstellung 2025

Planetarische Bauern

Große Sonderausstellung von Mai bis September 2025 im Kunstmuseum Moritzburg Halle (Saale)

Im Jahr 2025 jähren sich das Ende des deutschen Bauernkrieges und der Todestag Thomas Müntzers zum 500. Mal. Vor diesem Hintergrund lädt Werkleitz 15 internationale Künstler:innen und -Kollektive dazu ein, im Rahmen eines Aufenthalts in Sachsen-Anhalt neue Arbeiten zu entwickeln. Diese werden im Kunstmuseum Moritzburg Halle (Saale) in einer gemeinsamen Ausstellung mit dem Kunstmuseum Moritzburg von Mai bis September 2025 präsentiert.

Vor fünfhundert Jahren erhoben sich die ‚gemeinen Leute‘ – Bauern und Bäuerinnen, Handwerker, Minenarbeiter – in deutschen Landen gegen die damals herrschenden feudalen Obrigkeiten. Als Bauernkrieg in die Geschichtsschreibung eingegangen, gelten diese im Mai 1525 blutig niedergeschlagenen Erhebungen als erste Revolution auf deutschem Boden. Heute erheben sich Bauern und Bäuerinnen in Deutschland gegen einschränkende EU-Gesetze und Subventionskürzungen. Die zeitliche und inhaltliche Distanz scheint groß. Doch einige zentrale Punkte der damaligen Auseinandersetzungen sind wieder – oder immer noch – hochaktuell, zumal wenn man die Perspektive über Deutschland und die EU hinaus erweitert: Aneignungen von Land zulasten lokaler Bevölkerungen, ungerechte Verteilung von Kosten und Gewinn, der Kampf gegen die Privatisierung gemeinschaftlicher Güter, der Ruf nach sozialer und Klimagerechtigkeit. Darüber hinaus sind durch Landwirtschaft verursachte Umweltveränderungen wie Stickstoffanreicherung durch Überdüngung, Verdrängung von wildlebenden Pflanzen und Tieren, Bodenauslaugung, Wassermangel und CO2-Emissionen inzwischen von regional zu planetarisch wirksamen Faktoren geworden.

Einige der wichtigsten Schauplätze und Erinnerungsorte des historischen Bauernkriegs, der eng mit dem Namen des Predigers und militanten Luther-Antipoden Thomas Müntzer verbunden ist, befinden sich im mitteldeutschen Raum. Werkleitz nimmt dies zum Anlass für eine gegenwartsbezogene künstlerische Auseinandersetzung, die sich sowohl mit den Voraussetzungen und offenen Fragen der damaligen Ereignisse beschäftigt als auch mit den sozialen, ökonomischen und materiellen Bedingungen der heutigen, globalisierten Landwirtschaft und ihren planetarischen Auswirkungen.

Für die Entwicklung von künstlerischen Neuproduktionen ist Werkleitz im Gespräch mit Kateryna Aliinyk (UA/DE), Lara Almarcegui (ES/NL), Mabe Bethonico (BR/CH), Tega Brain (AU/US), Viktor Brim (DE), Chto Delat (RU/DE), Alice Creischer & Andreas Siekmann (DE), Gauri Gill (IN), Tamás Kaszás (HU), Luisa Keintzel (DE), Lutz & Guggisberg (CH), Ilona Németh (HU/SI), Åsa Sonjasdotter (SE/DE), Total Refusal (AT) und Michael Wang (US).

Planetarische Bauern
Künstler:innenresidenzen in Sachsen-Anhalt 2024
Große Sonderausstellung im Kunstmuseum Moritzburg Halle (Saale), Mai - September 2025

Eine Kooperation der Kulturstiftung Sachsen-Anhalt und Werkleitz,
in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kunstmuseum Moritzburg Halle (Saale).

Planetarische Bauern wird präsentiert im Rahmen der dezentralen Landesausstellung Sachsen-Anhalt Gerechtigkeyt. Thomas Müntzer und 500 Jahre Bauernkrieg.

Gefördert durch die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien und durch das Land Sachsen-Anhalt.

Kooperationspartner

Förderer

Hauptkategorie:

projekt

Werkkategorie:

Ausstellung

Veranstaltungskategorie:

Stipendienkategorie: