Re-enacting the Future

Root Event

Schaufenster in die Stadt Videorama
Videorama
Re-enacting the Future
1. 4. to 30. 4. 2021
DE/FR 2019
Still aus Re-enacting the Future
© Chloé Galibert-Laîné, Kevin B. Lee
Still aus Re-enacting the Future
© Chloé Galibert-Laîné, Kevin B. Lee

Re-enacting the Future is a video essay that pieces together a montage of historical re-enactments from early cinema through to recent years, many of which touch on nationalist themes. It examines the subjective nature of the memory and portrayal of historical events, the fine line between documentation and propaganda, as well as the wider question of re-enactments as entertainment. References to social media sites and information banners mimicking present-day TV news channels allude to the nature of today’s fast-paced contemporary media cycle, and speaks to […] the seeming lack of time available to us in which to process and reflect on contemporary events as they unfold before our eyes in ‘real’ time. 

(Excerpt from the catalogue of the Yerevan Biennial 2020)

In the first half of the year, the Videorama is dedicated to the artists of the European Media Art Platform (EMAP). Each month until July 2021 Werkleitz will present one of the productions by the selected artists and collectives. Parallel to the showcase, the works will also be shown online at werkleitz.de.

The Werkleitz Festival 2021 (June 18-July 4) presents new media art productions from the international residency program European Media Art Platform (EMAP) initiated by Werkleitz and supported by Creative Europe. The hybrid studio exhibition for digital culture will be accompanied by the specialist conference focusing on digitality.


DE/FR 2019, 10 min

Überveranstaltung

Re-enacting the Future

Root Event

Schaufenster in die Stadt Videorama
Videorama
Re-enacting the Future
1. 4. bis 30. 4. 2021
DE/FR 2019
Still aus Re-enacting the Future
© Chloé Galibert-Laîné, Kevin B. Lee
Still aus Re-enacting the Future
© Chloé Galibert-Laîné, Kevin B. Lee

Das Video-Essay Re-enacting the Future ist eine Montage historischer Reenactments, vom frühen Kino bis heute, deren Inhalte häufig nationalistische Themen berühren. Die Arbeit untersucht die subjektive Natur der Erinnerung und Darstellung historischer Ereignisse, den schmalen Grat zwischen Dokumentation und Propaganda sowie die umfassendere Frage von Reenactments als Unterhaltung. Verweise auf Social-Media-Seiten und Informationsbanner, die heutige TV-Nachrichtenkanäle imitieren, spielen auf die Natur des heutigen schnelllebigen zeitgenössischen Medienzyklus an und sprechen […] den scheinbaren Mangel an Zeit an, die uns zur Verfügung steht, um zeitgenössische Ereignisse zu verarbeiten und zu reflektieren, während sie sich vor unseren Augen in „Echtzeit“ entfalten.

Das Videorama steht in der erste Jahreshälfte im Zeichen der Künstlerinnen und Künstler der European Media Art Platform (EMAP). Werkleitz wird bis Juli 2021 jeden Monat eine Produktion der ausgewählten Künstlerinnen, Künstler und Kollektive präsentieren.

Parallel zum physischen Schaufenster werden die Arbeiten ebenfalls online auf werkleitz.de gezeigt.

Das Werkleitz Festival 2021 (18. Juni–12. September) präsentiert die medienkünstlerischen Neuproduktionen aus dem von Werkleitz initiierten und von Creative Europe unterstützten internationalen Stipendienprogramm European Media Art Platform (EMAP)


DE/FR 2019, 10 min

Überveranstaltung