If You Ever Have the Blues ...

Root Event

werkleitz Festival 2008 Amerika

Parent Event

If You Ever Have the Blues ...
25. 10. 2008

kuratiert von:

The multi-ethnic basis of American culture is an essential feature of its success. Unlike other societies, it was unable to strike roots in a common, centuries-old tradition and found itself obliged to invent itself anew, and also to ensure that as many as possible of the new immigrant communities would be able to relate to it. This is how the USA came to be a warily regarded example of globalisation, long before the term was ever coined. This development was nowhere crowned with as much success as in music, music created, ironically, by people who had never chosen to go to America and who were entirely divested of their rights once they did: African-American slaves and their descendants. Slaves didn’t speak their tormentors’ language, and communication amongst themselves was also difficult, for they came from vastly different regions. Music therefore became a major means of expression, one in which African and European elements merged to gave rise to something completely new. Perhaps even more astonishing than its genesis is the incredible success that the Blues and its sheer endless spectrum of derivative styles came to enjoy. Despite rampant racism in the USA and the fierce resistance put up by the traditional, European-dominated music scene the Blues quickly conquered, not only America but the whole world. It is striking that each new generation seems to identify itself with its own new version of Pop, perhaps because each has to deal with a situation that inevitably comes around: to wrest a sense of identity from a feeling of powerlessness.

The following programme comprises a parallel montage of American films focussed on Black music and films of the GDR.

Symphony in Black: A Rhapsody of Negro Life very clearly aimed to give visual expression to Black music before the latter had become established. Visual heroisation of the working class, so typical of the 1930s, cedes to an implausible drama about jealousy and lovesickness among the middle-classes. The combination of emotion – above all, of suffering – and music is nonetheless unambiguous and moving.

Jazz was quickly accepted in the GDR as the music of the oppressed. Rock’n’Roll, on the other hand, was fiercely condemned for many years as ‘St. Vitus’ Dance’ – also in the Federal German Republic, by the way (2). Its explosive rebellious energy not only electrified the oppressed in distant America but also youth in the GDR, and was therefore an obvious threat. Whilst the first version of Augenzeuge (1958) develops an adventurous logic between the two banes of society, Rock’n’Roll and military service, the second version from 1959 presents a homemade creation – the Lipsi Nr. 1 – designed to put an end to odious wriggling. Yet, as later newsreels had to admit, this was a somewhat “tired” dance.

The Blues Accordin’ to Lightnin’ Hopkins is a portrait of the legendary musician and even more so of his home territory, Texas. Blues, we get to feel in this film, is not only music but a philosophy of life, one that gives expression to the grief that ensues from an experience of permanent injustice and, at the same time, to a great joy in life, which seems to permeate every aspect of every day. Intense observation, the special hallmark of this film, allows the viewer to delve in and be part of the culture, for “If you ever have the blues, remember what I tell you: you will always hear it in your heart”.

All endeavours by the GDR to control the young generation’s musical culture, be these to ban it or offer home-grown alternatives could do little in the long-term to thwart youthful desire for a different, personal means of expression. With a soundtrack by the rock group Pankow, Einmal in der Woche schrein documents an underground (illegal) disco, in which kids – eager to copy American rebels of the silver screen – could indulge their personal longings. Whilst young people could not be controlled the film at least could be - and was - banned.

In the early 80s, when everyone felt that the rebellious energy of Pop had finally dissipated on the disco wave, along came Hip-Hop, once again from the ghetto, from the street, from the bottom of the social pile. Even more than its predecessors Rock’n’Roll and Rock, it spoke not only to youth but to kids all over the world. Even adamant enemies of America express themselves in Rap. Beatbox, alternate take portrays Hip-Hop’s ‘fifth column’, Beatbox, in which artists use their bodies to generate each sound. It seems that the innovative power of American musical sub-cultures remains as undaunted as ever.

Marcel Schwierin

(1) For example, in the documentary film Vom Lebensweg des Jazz (Wolfgang Bartsch, GDR/DDR 1956). Jazz was also routinely used to underscore clips about African-Americans’ struggle for civil liberties, featured in the GDR’s weekly news programme.

(2) “On stage tonight at the Sports Palace, American Bill Haley’s attempt to whip the crowd into a frenzy with a pathetic offering of convulsive jerks, screams and guitar riffs degenerated into the biggest teenage riot ever seen in Berlin. After forty tiresome minutes the event flopped amidst an indescribably deafening racket. Mr. Haley and his St-Vitus’ dance instrumentalists fled in a mad rush for the exit.” West German daily, Der Abend, 27.10.1958

Explore

If You Ever Have the Blues ...

Root Event

Werkleitz Festival 2008 Amerika

Parent Event

If You Ever Have the Blues ...
25. 10. 2008

kuratiert von:

Die multiethnische Basis der amerikanischen Kultur ist ein wesentlicher Faktor ihres Erfolges: Sie konnte sich nicht – wie in anderen Gesellschaften – auf eine gemeinsame, Jahrhunderte alte Überlieferung stützen, sondern musste sich zum einen neu erfinden, zum anderen in ihrer Kulturproduktion darauf achten, dass sie möglichst viele der eingewanderten Kulturkreise ansprechen konnte. So wurden die USA schon lange, bevor es den Begriff gab, zum misstrauisch beäugten Exempel der Globalisierung. Nirgends ist das so erfolgreich geschehen wie in der Musik, die ausgerechnet von denen ausging, die nie nach Amerika wollten und die dort keinerlei Rechte hatten: den afroamerikanischen Sklaven. Diese sprachen nicht die Sprache ihrer Peiniger. Aus verschiedensten Regionen stammend, konnten sie sich auch untereinander nur schwer verständigen. Ihr wichtigstes Ausdrucksmittel wurde daher die Musik, in der sich Elemente afrikanischer und europäischer Musik zu etwas völlig Neuem verbanden. Vielleicht noch erstaunlicher als ihre Entstehung ist der unglaubliche Erfolg, den der Blues mit seinen inzwischen schier unendlichen Nachfolgestilen hatte: Trotz des ausgeprägten Rassismus in den USA und des heftigen Widerstandes der etablierten, europäisch dominierten Musik, eroberte er nicht nur sehr schnell Amerika, sondern die ganze Welt. Insbesondere scheint sich jede Jugendgeneration aufs Neue mit ihrer eigenen Version des Pop zu identifizieren, vielleicht weil es immer wieder um eine ähnliche Situation geht: Identitätsbildung aus dem Gefühl der Ohnmacht heraus.

Das folgende Programm ist eine „Parallelmontage“ aus schwarze Musik thematisierenden Filmen der USA und Musikfilmen der DDR.

Symphony in Black: A Rhapsody of Negro Life
verfolgt ganz offensichtlich den Zweck, die noch nicht etablierte schwarze Musik visuell zu vermitteln. Die heroisierenden Arbeitsbilder, ganz im Stile der 30er Jahre, gehen über zu einem unglaubwürdigen Mittelklassedrama um Eifersucht und Liebesschmerz. Dennoch wird die Verbindung aus Emotionen – vor allem Leid – und Musik deutlich und berührend.

Jazz war in der DDR als Musik der Unterdrückten schnell akzeptiert (1). Rock’n’Roll dagegen wurde als „Veitstanz“ heftigst abgelehnt; wie übrigens auch lange in der BRD (2) Die explosive, rebellische Energie elektrisierte nicht nur die Unterdrückten im fernen Amerika, sondern auch die eigene Jugend und war daher offensichtlich zu bedrohlich. Während der erste Augenzeuge von 1958 eine abenteuerliche Logik zwischen den beiden Unheilen Rock’n’Roll und Wehrpflicht entwickelt, wird im zweiten Augenzeugen von 1959 eine eigene Schöpfung vorgestellt, die dem verhassten Gezappel den Garaus machen sollte: Der „Lipsi Nr. 1“, ein, wie spätere Wochenschauen zugeben mussten, etwas „müder“ Tanz.

The Blues Accordin’ to Lightnin’ Hopkins ist ein Portrait des legendären Musikers und mehr noch seiner Lebenswelt in Texas. Blues, so wird in diesem Film spürbar, ist nicht nur eine Musik, sondern eine Lebenseinstellung, die sowohl der Trauer um das beständig erlittene Unrecht Ausdruck verleiht, als auch gleichzeitig einer enormen Lebensfreude, die den gesamten Alltag zu durchdringen scheint. Das Besondere an dem Film ist, dass die Intensität seiner Beobachtung den Betrachter an dieser Kultur teilhaben lässt. „If you ever have the blues, remember what I tell you, you will always hear it in your heart.“

Alle Anstrengungen der DDR, die jugendliche Musikkultur zu kontrollieren, sei es durch Verbote, sei es durch Gegenangebote, konnten das Bedürfnis nach einem anderen, eigenen Ausdruck nicht dauerhaft verhindern. Einmal in der Woche schrein dokumentiert zu der Musik der Rockgruppe Pankow eine „illegale“ Disko, in der die Jugendlichen ihren eigenen Sehnsüchten nachgehen konnten – offensichtlich nach dem Vorbild amerikanischer Leinwandrebellen. Konnte schon die Jugend nicht kontrolliert werden, so wurde doch wenigstens der Film verboten.

Als man Anfang der 80er das Gefühl hatte, die rebellische Energie des Pop habe sich endgültig im Discosound aufgelöst, kam der Hip-Hop, wieder aus dem Ghetto, wieder von der Straße, wieder von ganz unten. Mehr noch als seine Vorläufer Rock’n’Roll oder Rock sprach er nicht nur Jugendliche, sondern auch Kinder weltweit an, sogar entschiedene Feinde der USA drücken sich im Rap aus. Beatbox, alternate take portraitiert die „fünfte Säule“ des Hip-Hop, den Beatbox, bei der die Künstler alle Geräusche mit ihrem eigenen Körper erzeugen. Es scheint, als sei die innovative Kraft der amerikanischen Musiksubkultur nach wie vor ungebrochen.

Marcel Schwierin


(1) Zum Beispiel in dem Dokumentarfilm Vom Lebensweg des Jazz (Wolfgang Bartsch, GDR/DDR 1956). Jazz wurde auch routinemäßig zur Untermalung von DDR-Wochenschaubeiträgen verwendet, in denen es um den Befreiungskampf der Afroamerikaner ging.

(2) „Zu Berlins größtem Halbstarkenkrawall artete heute Nacht der Versuch des amerikanischen Massenaufpeitschers Bill Haley aus, auf dem Sportpalast-Podium eine Kostprobe seiner Zuckungen, Schreie und Gitarrenschläge darzubieten. Nach vierzig mühsam überstandenen Minuten ging die Veranstaltung in einem unbeschreiblichen Getöse unter. Mr. Haley und seine Veitstanz-Instrumentalisten flohen Hals über Kopf zum Bühnenausgang hinaus.“ (Der Abend, 27.10.1958)

Explore