Amerika

werkleitz Festival 2008
Amerika
24. 10. to 26. 10. 2008
Amerika Startbild

82.369.548 AMERICAs


82,369,548 Germans are said to have been in existence by July 2008, according to an estimate made by the CIA   - down to the last inhabitant. Exactly the same number of images of America must exist in Germany – minus those of people not yet aware that anything like America exists. As meticulous as was the census of Germans, so inexact is our festival title, ‘AMERIKA’: officially a continent, in conversational usage the USA, and in people’s minds a myth. And it is the latter we are concerned with. The theme of the Werkleitz Festival is not America but the image(s) we have of it. America has played a very particular role for Germany, because Germans proved unable to keep their tyrants under control throughout the 20th century. The abdication of the emperor in 1918, West German democratisation after 1945 and, finally, the collapse of the Eastern bloc including the GDR: the USA was a driving force behind them all.  The focus of the festival is on the period following World War II because American influence henceforth followed two different paths: in West Germany the direct path of an occupying force, which encompassed re-education, jazz, the Marshall Plan, the Berlin Airlift, rearmament, rock’n’roll, blue jeans, NATO, hippies, sit-ins, disco, gender studies, rap, PC (meaning personal computer as well as political correctness) and, above all, although the list could be extended indefinitely, Hollywood; and in East Germany the more circuitous path of indirect influence, the official line there being that Americans were the capitalist enemy - yet unofficially they were probably more greatly admired than in the west. After the fall of the Berlin wall, due to globalisation, internet and the English language’s undisputed status as the lingua franca, universal American hegemony took on impressive proportions yet, in the wake of Kyoto, Iraq, Abu Ghraib and Guantanamo, this was soon to cede to widespread anti-Americanism. However we cannot and do 
not wish to trace geo-strategic relations in the framework of our festival: enough is written about them, anyhow. As always at our festivals, we are more concerned with a variety of specific artistic and cultural perspectives on social conditions. When reading the contributions in this catalogue, one is struck by how very subjective the authors’ views of America are, and this tendency is equally evident in the artwork we present. America here appears not so much as a political but rather as a medial structure, not as a real but as an imaginary landscape. If, as Baudrillard writes, the real purpose of Disneyland is actually to hide the fact that America has now itself become a Disneyland, what image of America filters through to Germany?  And what kind of images do Germans project in turn onto America, given that these images arise in response to the ‘Disneyland’ projection? What does it mean for a country, when it appears to borrow its myths, dreams and rebellions from another distant land? Does the real America actually still play a role among the projected images in this hall of mirrors?  

In conceiving this year’s festival we curators, Daniel Herrmann from the east and Marcel Schwierin from the west, began with the differences between our personal biographies. In Claus Löser and Philipp Gassert we invited guest authors respectively from east and west; in Ray Langenbach an American artist who sought to leave his homeland in order to gain a different perspective on it; and in Indian critic Girish Shahane an author who doesn’t share the western perspective that connects all the other authors. 

The film programme and forum equally reflect this dual focus: 

The film programme packs more than a century of cinema into three days. America is thereby observed both from without and within albeit the American contributions alone clearly illustrate the diversity – or  disaccord – of American experience. And Americans also turn their cameras on Germany, to address the returned gaze. 

The forum for its part is rooted in the festival location, Halle, and in the here and now. A range of events organised in cooperation with Halle’s universities, exhibition venues and media will serve to trace signs of America and American influence in the city. A comprehensive programme of events in the run-up to the festival aims to engage the real youngsters amongst us in particular, and find out how they see America. The sculptural installation erikaLand, especially developed for the festival, will turn the Werkleitz location itself into a kind of Disneyland.  

Is there something one might already consider to be a preliminary result, a pre-festival interim balance sheet of this long and intense preoccupation with America? What has surprised us most is the diversity and complexity of images of America. Everyone seems to carry around several of them, in which fascination and repulsion, real and medial experience are closely interwoven. With regard to revolution and independence, America developed as a role model for the modern age and, at least in Germany, it seems still to play this part, with all the positive and negative connotations this implies. We hope that the images condensed here in the artwork, films and discussions that make up the programme will encounter many more images of America brought along by visiting artists and the general public, and that a fruitful dialogue will ensue – about America, and also about ourselves.

Daniel Herrmann and Marcel Schwierin

Publikation

Werkleitz Festival 2008 Amerika

With texts by
Philipp Gassert, Daniel Herrmann, Ray Langenbach, Marcel Schwierin a. o.

sold out

Website

Explore

Amerika

Werkleitz Festival 2008
Amerika
24. 10. bis 26. 10. 2008
Amerika Startbild

82.369.548 AMERIKAs

82.369.548 Deutsche soll es im Juli 2008 gegeben haben. Geschätzt von der CIA. Auf den Einwohner genau. Genauso viele Bilder von Amerika dürfte es in Deutschland geben – abzüglich derer, die noch gar nicht wissen, dass es so etwas wie Amerika gibt. So übergenau die Schätzung der Deutschen, so unscharf ist der Titel für unser Festival: AMERIKA. Offiziell ein Kontinent, im allgemeinen Sprachgebrauch die USA, in den Köpfen der Menschen ein Mythos. Und um diesen geht es. Thema des Werkleitz Festivals ist nicht Amerika, sondern das Bild, welches wir uns davon machen. Für Deutschland spielt Amerika eine besondere Rolle, da die Deutschen im 20. Jahrhundert nicht in der Lage waren, ihre Despoten in den Griff zu bekommen: Die Abdankung des Kaisers 1918, die westdeutsche Demokratie ab 1945 und schließlich der Zusammenbruch des Ostblocks einschließlich der DDR, hinter alldem standen die USA als treibende Kraft. Der Fokus des Festivals liegt auf der Zeit nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg, weil sich hier der Einfluss Amerikas teilte. In Westdeutschland, als Besatzungsmacht, war er sehr direkt. Re-education, Jazz, Marshall-Plan, Luftbrücke, Wiederbewaffnung, Rock’n’Roll, Jeans, NATO, Hippies, Sit-ins, Disco, Gender-Studies, Rap, PC (sowohl Personal Computer als auch Political Correctness) und über allem Hollywood: Die Liste der Einflüsse ließe sich endlos fortsetzen. In Ostdeutschland war der Einfluss differenzierter, offiziell waren die USA der kapitalistische Feind schlechthin, inoffiziell wurden sie wahrscheinlich mehr bewundert als im Westen. Nach dem Fall der Mauer, mit Globalisierung, Internet und der endgültigen Etablierung des Englischen als Lingua Franca, nahm die amerikanische Hegemonie in der Welt beeindruckende Ausmaße an, um dann in der Folge von Kyoto, Irak, Abu Ghraib und Guantanamo einem breiten Antiamerikanismus Platz zu machen. Jedoch können und wollen wir die geostrategischen Verhältnisse im Rahmen unseres Festivals nicht nachzeichnen, auch wird dazu genug geschrieben. Wie immer in unseren Festivals, geht es uns um den spezifischen, den anderen Blick von Kunst und Kultur auf gesellschaftliche Verhältnisse. Beim Lesen der Katalogbeiträge fällt auf, dass die meisten von ihnen sehr subjektive Blicke auf Amerika werfen, eine Tendenz, die sich auch in den künstlerischen Arbeiten fortsetzt. Amerika erscheint hier weniger als politisches, vielmehr als mediales Gebilde, nicht als reale, sondern imaginäre Landschaft. Wenn Baudrillard schreibt, dass Disneyland eigentlich dazu da sei zu verdecken, dass ganz Amerika inzwischen ein einziges Disneyland sei, was ist dann das Bild von Amerika, das hier in Deutschland ankommt?  Und was sind dann die Projektionen der Deutschen auf Amerika, die ja wiederum eine Reaktion auf das übermittelte „Disneyland“ sind? Was bedeutet es für ein Land, wenn es seine Mythen, seine Träume, seine Rebellionen von einem anderen fernen Land auszuleihen scheint? Spielt das reale Amerika in diesem Spiegelkabinett der Projektionen überhaupt noch eine Rolle?

In der Konzeption des Festivals sind wir als Kuratoren von der Differenz unserer eigenen Biografien ausgegangen, Daniel Herrmann aus dem Osten, Marcel Schwierin aus dem Westen. Wir haben mit Claus Löser und Philipp Gassert Autoren aus Ost- und Westdeutschland eingeladen, mit Ray Langenbach einen amerikanischen Künstler, der seine Heimat zu verlassen suchte, um ein anderes Bild von ihr zu gewinnen, und mit dem indischen Kritiker Girish Shahane einen Autor, der nicht die abendländische Perspektive teilt, die alle anderen Autoren verbindet.

Mit Filmprogramm und Forum setzen wir weiterhin einen dualen Fokus:

Das Filmprogramm verdichtet in drei Tagen mehr als ein Jahrhundert Filmgeschichte. Amerika wird dabei sowohl von außen als auch von innen betrachtet, wobei gerade bei den amerikanischen Beiträgen  die Vielschichtigkeit – oder Zerrissenheit – Amerikas deutlich wird. Aber auch der Blick zurück wird thematisiert mit Amerikanern, die Deutschland filmen.

Das Forum dagegen ist am Standort des Festivals, in Halle, und in der Gegenwart lokalisiert. In vielfältigen Kooperationen mit Hallenser Hochschulen, Ausstellungsorten und Medien geht es um die Zeichen und Spuren Amerikas in der Stadt. Ein umfangreiches Vorabprogramm erweitert den zeitlichen Rahmen des Festivals und in den Workshops wird vor allem eine sehr junge Generation nach ihren Amerikabildern befragt. Mit der skulpturalen Installation erikaLand, eigens für das Festival entwickelt, wird der Standort von Werkleitz zu seinem eigenen Disneyland.

Gibt es nach langer und intensiver Beschäftigung mit Amerika eigentlich so etwas wie ein vorläufiges Ergebnis, eine Zwischenbilanz schon vor dem Festival? Überrascht hat uns vor allem die Vielfältigkeit und Komplexität der Amerikabilder, von denen jeder mehrere in sich zu tragen scheint. Bewunderung und Ablehnung durchdringen sich dabei, ebenso wie reale und mediale Erfahrung. Amerika hat sich mit Revolution und Unabhängigkeit zu einem Modellfall der Moderne entwickelt und scheint diese Rolle zumindest für Deutschland noch immer zu haben, im Positiven wie im Negativen. Wir hoffen, dass die in Werken geronnene Verdichtung dieser Bilder während des Festivals auf die vielen Amerikabilder trifft, die Künstler und Besucher mitbringen werden, und dass dabei eine fruchtbare Auseinandersetzung entsteht, über Amerika wie über uns selbst.

Daniel Herrmann und Marcel Schwierin
Halle / Berlin

Publikation

Werkleitz Festival 2008 Amerika

Mit Texten von
Philipp Gassert, Daniel Herrmann, Ray Langenbach, Marcel Schwierin u. a.

sold out

Website

Explore