VIBRATIONS Prototype

Root Event

Werkleitz Festival 2021 move to …

Parent Event

Fokus sociosphere

Root Event

Werkleitz Festival 2021 move to …

Root Event

Schaufenster in die Stadt Videorama
VIBRATIONS Prototype
18. 6. 2021
DE 2021
Foto: Michel Klehm
Foto: Michel Klehm
Vibrations Rendering
© Moritz Simon Geist

The installation VIBRATIONS generates sine waves with physical robotic instruments. A generative composition algorithm (AI) creates contemplative spatial soundscapes, based on patterns derived from compositions of minimal music likethat ofTerry Riley or John Adam.

The sound of the instrument is generated by tuned aluminum bars. Controlled by a complex distributed robotic actuator system, the multifaceted sound ranges from spherical, sombrechords to glassy, highly concise melodies.

The sound in this work is not played by humans but by 36 small robotic actuators. The robotic actuators are triggered by a computer running an AI/ML algorithm forming three octaves (36 tones). The robot mechanics introduce slight variations in sound and rhythm creating an organic contrast to the calculated computer-generated sounds. The robots are nevertheless precise enough to play repetitive structures that no human could ever reproduce. This combination aims to create a new organic and mechanical form of sound: robotic electronic music.

Due to a global chip shortage as a side effect of the pandemic, the installation is currently a work in progress and will be presented as such.

This work was realised within the framework of the European Media Art Platforms (EMAP) programme at Ars Electronica (AT) with support of the Creative Europe Culture Programme of the European Union.

Live Performance by Moritz Simon Geist (DE) with livestream to the 19th Media Art Biennale WRO 2021 REVERSO in Wroclaw, in cooperation with Silbersalz Science & Media Festival

VIBRATIONS Prototype

Root Event

Werkleitz Festival 2021 move to …

Parent Event

Fokus sociosphere

Root Event

Werkleitz Festival 2021 move to …

Root Event

Schaufenster in die Stadt Videorama
VIBRATIONS Prototype
18. 6. 2021
DE 2021
Foto: Michel Klehm
Foto: Michel Klehm
Vibrations Rendering
© Moritz Simon Geist

Die Installation VIBRATIONS erzeugt mit physischen robotischen Instrumenten Sinuskurven. Ein generativer Kompositionsalgorithmus (KI) schafft kontemplative räumliche Soundlandschaften, die auf Mustern basieren, welche auf Kompositionen minimalistischer Musik wie der von Terry Riley oder John Adam zurückgehen.

Die Töne des Instruments werden durch gestimmte Aluminiumstäbe erzeugt. Der von einem komplexen vernetzten robotischen Antriebssystem gesteuerte und vielseitige Sound reicht von sphärischen, düsteren Akkorden bis hin zu glasklaren, äußerst prägnanten Melodien.

Die Töne werden dabei nicht von Menschen gemacht, sondern von 36 kleinen robotischen Antriebselementen. Diese löst ein Computer aus, indem er einen KI/ML-Algorithmus aus frei Oktaven (36 Tönen) ablaufen lässt. Die Robotermechanik bringt leichte Variationen in den Klang und den Rhythmus ein und schafft somit einen organischen Kontrast zu rein kalkulierten computergenerierten Sounds. Dennoch sind die Roboter präzise genug, um repetitive Strukturen zu spielen, die ein Mensch niemals reproduzieren könnte. Ziel dieser Kombination ist es, eine neue organische und mechanische Form von Sound zu schaffen: robotische elektronische Musik.

Da Computerchips als Nebeneffekt der Pandemie weltweit knapp geworden sind, ist die Arbeit derzeit noch ein work in progress und wird auch als solches präsentiert.

Diese Arbeit wurde im Rahmen des Programms European Media Art Platforms (EMAP) bei Ars Electronica (AT) mit Unterstützung des Creative Europe Kulturprogramms der Europäischen Union realisiert.

Live Performance von Moritz Simon Geist (DE) mit Livestream zur 19. Media Art Biennale WRO 2021 REVERSO in Wroclaw, in Kooperation mit dem Silbersalz Science & Media Festival