Krafla

Root Event

Werkleitz Festival 2021 move to …

Root Event

Schaufenster in die Stadt Videorama
Krafla
2020
© Anna Friz
© Anna Friz

This work is an audiovisual concert and installation by 18 boreholes and 1 Geothermal power plant.

It is also a live electro-acoustic performance composed primarily from field recordings from the Krafla Geothermal power plant and the surrounding region, located in a volcanic caldera in the north of Iceland. The concert will be accompanied by a single-screen projection of a digitalised monochrome 16mm film and a photo montage from the Krafla area.

The Krafla power plant includes numerous deep boreholes to access steam and geothermal springs; the top of each borehole is enclosed in a geodesic structure and connected to a network of pipelines that take steam and water to the different parts of the power plant. Each of these boreholes has a very individual character depending on the age and depth of the installation, and as such function as a kind of industrial musical instrument with its own personality. The evaporation processes and power turbines also produce an intense density of sound. These industrial infrastructures are set in the context of the Caldera’s land and weather, prone to intense winds and heavy fog. Krafla seeks to explore the relationships between these human and extra-human forces.

Krafla is currently a work in progress.

This work was realised within the framework of the European Media Art Platforms (EMAP) programme at Antre Peaux (ex Bandits Mages) (FR) with support of the Creative Europe Culture Programme of the European Union.

Überveranstaltung

Krafla

Root Event

Werkleitz Festival 2021 move to …

Root Event

Schaufenster in die Stadt Videorama
Krafla
2020
© Anna Friz
© Anna Friz

Audiovisuelles Konzert und Installation von 18 Bohrlöchern und einem Geothermie-Kraftwerk.

Krafla ist eine elektroakustische Live-Performance, die hauptsächlich aus Field Recordings besteht, die im geothermischen Kraftwerks Krafla und in der umliegenden Region aufgenommen wurden. Das Kraftwerk befindet sich in einem Vulkankrater im Norden Islands. Das Konzert wird von einer Videoprojektion eines digitalisierten monochromen 16-mm-Films und einer Fotomontage aus dem Krafla-Gebiet begleitet.

Das Krafla-Kraftwerk umfasst zahlreiche tiefe Bohrlöcher für den Zugang zu Dampf und geothermischen Quellen. Die Spitze jedes Bohrlochs ist von einer geodätischen Struktur umschlossen und mit einem Netzwerk aus Rohren verbunden, die den Dampf und das Wasser zu den verschiedenen Teilen des Kraftwerks leiten. Jedes dieser Bohrlöcher ist je nach Alter und Tiefe der Anlage höchst individuell und fungiert so als eine Art industrielles Musikinstrument mit einem ganz eigenen Charakter. Auch die Verdampfungsprozesse und Kraftwerksturbinen erzeugen eine intensive Klangdichte. Diese industriellen Infrastrukturen werden mit der Geografie und dem Wetter der Gegend in Zusammenhang gebracht, das von heftigen Winden und starkem Nebel geprägt ist. Mit Krafla soll das Verhältnis zwischen diesen menschlichen und nicht menschlichen Kräften erforscht werden.

Bei Krafla handelt es sich um work in progress.

Diese Arbeit wurde im Rahmen des Programms European Media Art Platforms (EMAP) bei Antre Peaux (ex Bandits Mages) (FR) mit Unterstützung des Creative Europe Kulturprogramms der Europäischen Union realisiert.

Überveranstaltung