Beyond Human Perception

Root Event

Werkleitz Festival 2021 move to …

Root Event

Schaufenster in die Stadt Videorama
Beyond Human Perception
2020
Beyond Human Perception
uh513
uh513, Beyond Human Perception, Installationsansicht: Arts Santa Mònica, Barcelona 2021
© Maria Castellanos
uh513, Beyond Human Perception, Installationsansicht: Arts Santa Mònica, Barcelona 2021
© Maria Castellanos

This multimedia work allows the audience to visualise and compare the reactions of humans and plants to a common stimulus: live music. It erases the boundaries of communication and understanding between both living beings and highlights the immediate reactions of plants to the changes in their surroundings. The installation is the result of several sessions where the brain activity of humans was measured by the EEG registered wave jointly with electrical oscillations in plants, using a sensor developed by the artists that detects immediate changes in plants.

Through the use of mathematics and the Fast Fourier Transform, human and plant data are comparable. Thanks to an algorithm developed by the artists, data is displayed graphically, which allows the audience to see little spheres that move within the geometric shape of torus. Each sphere represents the registered data. The graphic representation is seen simultaneously in a video that allows the audience to find patterns by comparing both living beings’ reactions to live music.

The video installation is composed of two synchronised videos facing each other: One video with the concert for plants and humans, and the other with data visualisation of the two living beings’ responses during the performance.

This work was realised within the framework of the European Media Art Platforms (EMAP) programme at KONTEJNER (HR) with support of the Creative Europe Culture Programme of the European Union.

Überveranstaltung

Beyond Human Perception

Root Event

Werkleitz Festival 2021 move to …

Root Event

Schaufenster in die Stadt Videorama
Beyond Human Perception
2020
Beyond Human Perception
uh513
uh513, Beyond Human Perception, Installationsansicht: Arts Santa Mònica, Barcelona 2021
© Maria Castellanos
uh513, Beyond Human Perception, Installationsansicht: Arts Santa Mònica, Barcelona 2021
© Maria Castellanos

Beyond Human Perception ermöglicht es dem Publikum, die Reaktionen von Menschen und Pflanzen auf denselben Reiz – hier in Form von Live-Musik – zu visualisieren und zu vergleichen. Die Videoinstallation ist das Ergebnis mehrerer Sitzungen, in denen die Gehirnaktivität von Menschen gemessen wurde. Parallel dazu wurden die elektrischen Schwingungen der Pflanzen mit einem eigens entwickelten Sensor gemessen und unmittelbare Veränderungen sichtbar gemacht. Ziel ist es, Grenzen in der Kommunikation zu überwinden und die unmittelbare Reaktion der Pflanzen auf Veränderungen in ihrer Umgebung deutlich zu machen.

Mit Hilfe von Mathematik und der „schnellen Fourier-Transformation“ lassen sich Daten von Menschen und Pflanzen miteinander vergleichen. Mittels eines eigens entwickelten Algorithmus werden diese Daten als kleine Sphären dargestellt, die sich innerhalb der geometrischen Form eines Torus bewegen. Die grafische Darstellung der Reaktionen erfolgt nebeneinander in einem Video, das es dem Publikum durch den Vergleich der Reaktionen beider Lebewesen auf die Live-Musik ermöglicht, Muster zu erkennen.

Die Installation besteht aus zwei synchronisierten Videos: Ein Video zeigt das Konzert für Pflanzen und Menschen, das andere die Datenvisualisierung der Reaktionen beider Lebewesen während des Konzerts.

Diese Arbeit wurde im Rahmen des Programms European Media Art Platforms (EMAP) bei KONTEJNER (HR) mit Unterstützung des Creative Europe Kulturprogramms der Europäischen Union realisiert.

Überveranstaltung