There is Only One Life

Root Event

werkleitz Biennale 2006 Happy Believers
There is Only One Life
DE 2006

Monika Oechsler’s video work, produced for Werkleitz Biennial, There Is Only One Life (2006), explores our modern lifeworld in the reflection of spiritual and philosophical ideas. The filmic work takes the currently observable reenchantment by religious and mythical concepts as a starting point to illuminate the spiritual search for meaning of the consumer society beyond traditional denominations and doctrines. Comparable to popular psychology, alternative systems of belief also function as methods of self valorization, and are in demand as such.
The artist takes recourse to myths of cabbala teachings, a tradition of belief that has its origins in the writings of Judaism, and which since the beginning of the twentieth century has spread through occult circles, esoteric currents, and New Age movements, becoming popular. At the centre of the artistic work is a pictorial novel, Promethea by Alan Moore. The novel in the form of a science-fiction comic combines a scientifically dominated perspective with the myths of the cabbala.
Promethea, the central female novel figure, is represented in her four various incarnations by four actresses. The textual fragments consist of arrangements of fictional references from the narrative Promethea, texts by the English poet William Blake, and song lyrics from the bands Verve and Radiohead. The figures are set in the mythology of a popular world religion searching for meaning in locations in current London: the business landscape of the Canary Wharf, a tube station in the middle of the city, and the historical Abney Cemetery.
There Is Only One Life opposes various dialogues, monologues, and showplaces in a temporal historical sampling to the female characters (Promethea), who themselves stand for references from antiquity, classicism, and modernity. In the combination of philosophical ideas, spiritual consciousness, poetic world explanation, and fictional figures, the symbiotic connections of the most various influences from mythology, religious culture, and superstitions are visualised, where the wish for enchantment, identity, and transcendence is equally expressed.

Translated from the German original.

(Anke Hoffmann: Glaubenssysteme zwischen Medien, Markt und Menschen)

Monika Oechsler, DE 2006, video installation, 13 min
Courtesy the artist

Explore

Überveranstaltung

There is Only One Life

Root Event

7. Werkleitz Biennale 2006 Happy Believers
There is Only One Life
DE 2006

Monika Oechslers für die Werkleitz Biennale neu produzierte Videoarbeit There Is Only One Life (2006) thematisiert unsere moderne Lebenswelt in der Reflektion von spirituellen und philosophischen Ideen. Die filmische Arbeit nimmt die gegenwärtig zu beobachtende Wiederverzauberung durch religiöse und mythische Konzepte als Ausgangspunkt, um die spirituelle Sinnsuche der Konsumgesellschaft jenseits von traditioneller Konfession und Doktrin zu beleuchten. Vergleichbar mit populärer Psychologie fungieren alternative Glaubenssysteme auch als Methoden der Selbstaufwertung und sind als solche gefragt.
Die Künstlerin nimmt Rückgriff auf die Mythen der kabbalistischen Lehren, eine Glaubenstradition, die ihre Ursprünge in den Schriften des Judentums besitzt, sich seit Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts über okkulte Kreise, esoterische Strömungen und New Age Bewegungen verbreitet hat und populär wurde. Im Zentrum der künstlerischen Arbeit steht jedoch ein Bild-Roman, Promethea von Alan Moore. Der Roman in Form eines Science Fiction-Comics verbindet die wissenschaftlich-dominierte Perspektive mit den Mythen der Kabbala.
Promethea, die zentrale weibliche Romanfigur, wird in ihren vier unterschiedlichen Inkarnationen von vier Darstellerinnen repräsentiert. Die Textfragmente bestehen aus Arrangements fiktionaler Referenzen der Erzählung Promethea, Texten des englischen Poeten William Blake und Songlyrics der Bands Verve und Radiohead. Platziert werden die Stellvertreter einer in populäre Sinnsuche eingeflossenen Weltreligionsmythologie in die Schauplätze der Gegenwart Londons: die Business-Landschaft des Canary Wharf, eine U-Bahn Station im Zentrum der Stadt und den historischen Abney Friedhofspark.
There Is Only One Life setzt unterschiedliche Dialoge, Monologe und Schauplätze in einem zeitlich-historischen Sampling den weiblichen Charakteren (der Promethea) gegenüber, die selbst als Verkünderinnen für Referenzen aus Altertum, Klassik und Moderne stehen. In der Kombination von philosophischen Ideen, spirituellem Bewusstsein, poetischer Welterklärung und fiktionalen Figuren werden die symbiotischen Verbindungen unterschiedlichster Einflüsse aus Mythologie, Religionskultur und Aberglauben visualisiert, in denen sich der Wunsch nach Verzauberung, nach Identität und Transzendenz gleichermaßen ausdrückt.

(Anke Hoffmann: Glaubenssysteme zwischen Medien, Markt und Menschen)

Monika Oechsler, DE 2006, Videoinstallation, 13 min

Explore

Überveranstaltung