The Eternal Lesson & Fabric

Root Event

Werkleitz Festival 2019 Modell und Ruine

Parent Event

The Eternal Lesson & Fabric
DE 2012 / 2014
Christoph Girardet, Fabric, Installationsansicht Werkleitz Festival 2019 Modell und Ruine, 2019
© Werkleitz 2019, Foto: Max Méndez
Christoph Girardet, Fabric, Installationsansicht Werkleitz Festival 2019 Modell und Ruine, 2019
© Werkleitz 2019, Foto: Max Méndez
Christoph Girardet, Fabric (Filmstill), Video, 4:3, sw, Ton, 9’ 30’’, 2014 © Bildmaterial aus der Sammlung des EYE Film Institute Netherlands: AKU–SHOW (workprints), Algemene Kunstzijde Unie / Paul Schuitema, 1949
© Bildmaterial aus der Sammlung des EYE Film Institute Netherlands: AKU–SHOW (workprints), Algemene Kunstzijde Unie / Paul Schuitema, 1949

In the Meisterhaus Moholy-Nagy, Christoph Girardet presents two works in juxtaposition – much like model and ruin, or the negative and the print in analogue photography. The Eternal Lesson (2012) features the rushes from an unfinished film from 1939 showing art students working in the studio and museum. Many sequences were reshot time and again with only marginal differences. Girardet screens two near identical sequences simultaneously, thus initiating a running comparison between model and execution, ideal and divergence. Fabric (2014) also makes use of historical material: here, footage from an industrial film about synthetic fibres from 1949. The final cut has been lost. Girardet has edited the surviving discarded footage into a chronological sequence including the clapperboards punctuating each take. By necessity, this film will always remain a ruin yet it exposes the techniques and methods of film production itself.

Interview Christoph Girardet with Daniel Herrmann

DH: A great deal of your artistic work takes found footage as a point of departure. Though I’m not really sure about it, as it would imply that you react to things that you find. – Are you searching for something particular or just out taking a walk?

CG: I’m rarely just out taking a walk. Sometimes I set out on an aimless search, and it’s not at all clear what I’ll find. Fabric and The Eternal Lesson are the best examples of this. I had the opportunity to look through the archives of the Eye Filmmuseum in Amsterdam. I had an objective but initially I had absolutely no idea what that objective was. You hope to chance upon something, and maybe a certain stubbornness forces you to find something.

On the other hand, sometimes in the course of focused research you stumble across material that is interesting but useless for the project at hand. This material hangs around waiting to perhaps be explored at some point in the future – or it doesn’t.

DH: Your utilization of individual images or sequences from existing film footage is to me comparable to juggling spolia. In Silberwald [Silver Forest] you’ve extracted specific images and figures with a similar function from different films and blended them into archetypes – mountain panorama and deer vs. poacher and the woodman’s wife. What’s life like in a quarry that contains an utterly endless number of images?

CG: Silberwald is characteristic of a project that involved a targeted search. It’s a kind of survival strategy within the quarry. Before the work began there was a predefined limitation to specific motifs from a very special film genre during a particular era. Since the so-called Heimatfilm is very present in the German media and has been the subject of academic study for decades, the research was time-intensive but not difficult. I had an idea what I was getting into. The challenge for me was to identify some kind of quality in the material, ideally to inject it with meaning, which was extremely difficult considering how interchangeable the images are.

I’m not sure if the definition of spolia can be applied to something produced in such an industrial manner. In contrast to exceptional fragments of long-since vanished structures, these film fragments are merely copied parts of films that are still intact, and are by no means one of a kind.

DH: Both the Heimatfilm that we just talked about and the scientific film, the narrative of which you plundered for Synthesis, are vast landscapes of ruins, essentially obsolete. Is it possible that precisely by utilizing obsolete material you generate a kind of timelessness?

CG: A significant number of the images in Synthesis come from films commissioned by the chemical industry, so these are promotional, pseudo-scientific commercial films. The 1960s were the golden age for this genre. Certain design vocabularies and strategies of promotional films still haven’t changed. They always feature what is assumed to be a widely accepted consensus, for example a classical idea of beauty. But this also explains why even the most toxic substances have to look really good. For this reason an obsolescence can be found in Synthesis more in the ruinous condition of the film material, in the aesthetic of patina, in the colour errors, paleness, dust and spots. Surfaces appear corroded, the celluloid is damaged in places. The patina suggests an interplay between the chemicals portrayed and the worn material, though this wasn’t intended by the makers. Maybe a timeless, banal, yet indeed existential insight manifests itself here, as processes of decay are not just cultural and historical revenants, they are real and cannot be held back.

DH: In Fabric three alluring women in new clothes made of synthetic fabrics make their way through the film studio. Exquisite replicas of antique figures serve as accessories and every now and again the handsome tailor appears as well. One might think we’re dealing here with the incarnation of Winckelmann’s aphorism: “noble simplicity, quiet grandeur”. Every now and again we hear a beep. Similar to the battle for Laocoon’s arm, with Fabric you engage in speculation – about what?

CG: The work that will be presented in the exhibition Model and Ruin in Moholy-Nagy’s Meisterhaus is based on a film from the year 1949 that was directed by Paul Schuitema. His primarily graphic work was very much in line with the Bauhaus tradition, even as early as the 1920s. He had a decisive influence on the aesthetics of modernity in Holland. He was also a very interesting filmmaker. For the most part he made independent short productions.

This film was a commissioned work from shortly after World War II, a commercial film about the manufacturing and sale of synthetic fibres. Fabric utilizes film material that was discarded. At the Eye Filmmuseum in Amsterdam only the leftover material not used for the working copy is to be found. It’s very likely that not a single copy of the final version of the film still exists anywhere. Yet the discarded material is also quite revealing. The clapperboards and their numbering make it possible to piece together the storyboard, at least fragmentarily, and from the many takes filmed for continuity and repeated several times, of which only one made it into the final version, it’s possible to surmise how the film was edited.

In contrast to Laocoon’s arm, here I was not interested in reconstructing the film as precisely as possible using existing alternative takes. The conceptual approach to Fabric follows a contradictory logic – the inversion or negative form of the lost film. I arranged the remaining material, I mean all the repetitions including the clapperboards and brief camera tests, as well as the takes that were interrupted because of mistakes made by the actors or camera errors, according to their consecutive numbering. Often pieces are missing, though the footage before and after the take itself still exists. If a passage is missing it can be assumed that it was used in the working copy. In Fabric the gaps left by the missing fragments are now closed. The material before and after a take is added in direct succession. These seams are indicated by short beeps, providing a certain structure to the film woven together in this manner, which otherwise doesn’t have a soundtrack. Between the depiction of the production, the processing and that of the supposed sensuality of synthetic fibres, representation processes emerge that are for their part also extremely artificial: the processes of cinematic dramatization.

The reconstruction method is more relevant for the second work of mine in the exhibition, The Eternal Lesson. In a purely speculative manner, I have edited two extremely similar but by no means identical variants of a film and placed them side by side. The images are taken from the raw material for a documentary film from the late 1930s that was never finished. The Eternal Lesson explores the idea of originals and authenticity. The images show art students at work as they attempt to copy different models – a still life, a living model or the replica of a sculpture – as precisely as possible. While the students compare their works with these models as part of the creative process, the viewer analyzes the differences between the two films. As an infinite loop this “slave work” becomes a classroom session that eternally repeats itself.

Explore

Überveranstaltung

The Eternal Lesson & Fabric

Root Event

Werkleitz Festival 2019 Modell und Ruine

Parent Event

Werkleitz Festival 2019 Modell und Ruine Ausstellungsparcours
The Eternal Lesson & Fabric
DE 2012 / 2014
Christoph Girardet, Fabric, Installationsansicht Werkleitz Festival 2019 Modell und Ruine, 2019
© Werkleitz 2019, Foto: Max Méndez
Christoph Girardet, Fabric, Installationsansicht Werkleitz Festival 2019 Modell und Ruine, 2019
© Werkleitz 2019, Foto: Max Méndez
Christoph Girardet, Fabric (Filmstill), Video, 4:3, sw, Ton, 9’ 30’’, 2014 © Bildmaterial aus der Sammlung des EYE Film Institute Netherlands: AKU–SHOW (workprints), Algemene Kunstzijde Unie / Paul Schuitema, 1949
© Bildmaterial aus der Sammlung des EYE Film Institute Netherlands: AKU–SHOW (workprints), Algemene Kunstzijde Unie / Paul Schuitema, 1949

Christoph Girardet zeigt im Meisterhaus Moholy-Nagy zwei Arbeiten die komplementär zueinander stehen – wie Ruine und Modell oder wie Negativ und Positiv in der Analogfotografie. The Eternal Lesson (2012) verwendet das Rohmaterial eines unvollendeten Films von 1939, der Kunststudenten bei der Arbeit im Atelier und Museum dokumentiert. Viele Einstellungen wurden mehrmals, mit minimalen Unterschieden gedreht. Girardet zeigt jeweils zwei fast identische Ansichten nebeneinander, wodurch ein permanenter Abgleich zwischen Modell und Ausführung, Ideal und Abweichung in Gang gesetzt wird. Fabric (2014) bedient sich ebenfalls historischer Materialien, diesmal aussortierter Sequenzen eines Industriefilms über Kunstfasern von 1949. Der finale Film ist verschollen, Girardet montiert also die Schnittreste vor und nach der Klappe chronologisch aneinander. Dieser Film muss für immer Ruine bleiben, macht jedoch die Technik und Methode der filmischen Inszenierung selbst sichtbar.

Interview Christoph Girardet mit Daniel Herrmann

DH: Ein Großteil deiner künstlerischen Arbeit nimmt ihren Ausgangspunkt in Found Footage. Wobei ich mir hier gar nicht sicher bin, denn das würde ja bedeuten, du reagierst auf Gefundenes. – Ist es eine Suche oder ein Spaziergang?

CG: Ein Spaziergang ist das selten. Es gibt Suchen, die ziellos sind, wo überhaupt nicht klar ist, was ich finden werde. Fabric und The Eternal Lesson sind dafür beste Beispiele. Ich durfte das Archiv des Filmmuseums in Amsterdam durchstöbern, das hatte zwar auch ein Ziel, aber ich hatte am Anfang absolut keine Ahnung, welches genau. Man hofft also auf Zufallsfunde, und eine gewisse Hartnäckigkeit mag diese dann auch erzwungen haben.

Manchmal wiederum treiben während einer fokussierten Recherche interessante Fundstücke an, die fürs anstehende Projekt aber unbrauchbar sind. Diese harren dann einer möglichen Auseinandersetzung zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt, oder auch nicht.

DH: Deine Übernahme von Einzelbildern oder Sequenzen aus vorhandenem Filmmaterial erscheint mir wie ein Jonglieren mit Spolien. In Silberwald hast du aus verschiedenen Filmen spezifische Bilder und Figuren gleicher Funktion herausgearbeitet und zu Archetypen verschmolzen – Bergpanorama und Hirsch vs. Wilddieb und Försters Lieschen. Wie lebt es sich im Steinbruch schier unendlicher Bilder?

CG: Silberwald ist exemplarisch für ein Projekt mit gezielter Suche. Die ist quasi eine Überlebensstrategie im Steinbruch. Im Vorfeld gab es die Begrenzung auf bestimmte Motive aus einem sehr speziellen Filmgenre während einer definierbaren Epoche. Da der Heimatfilm medial sehr präsent und auch seit Jahrzehnten Gegenstand wissenschaftlicher Betrachtung ist, war die Recherche zwar zeitaufwendig, aber nicht schwierig. Man konnte ahnen, was einen erwartet. Die Aufgabe bestand für mich eher darin, dem Material noch etwas abzugewinnen, bestenfalls, ihm etwas Bedeutendes hinzuzufügen, was bei der Austauschbarkeit der Bilder eine echte Herausforderung war.

Ich bin gar nicht sicher, ob sich die Definition von Spolien auch auf derart industriell Gefertigtes übertragen lässt. Im Unterschied zu einzigartigen Bruchstücken längst verschwundener Bauwerke handelt es sich bei den Filmfragmenten ja lediglich um kopierte Teile aus nach wie vor intakten Filmen und mitnichten um Unikate.

DH: Eben der Heimatfilm. Und nun ein weiteres Genre: der wissenschaftliche Film, dessen Narrativ du für Synthesis geplündert hast. Beides Ruinenlandschaften, wiewohl überkommen.

Kann es sein, dass du gerade, indem du dich überkommenen Materials bedienst, dem Resultat eine Zeitlosigkeit verschaffst?

CG: Ein erheblicher Teil der Bilder in Synthesis stammt aus Filmen, die von der chemischen Industrie in Auftrag geben wurden, also aus werbenden, pseudo-wissenschaftlichen Industriefilmen. Dieses Genre hatte seine Blütezeit in den 1960er Jahren. Bestimmte Formensprachen und Strategien von Werbefilmen sind bis heute unverändert. Sie bedienen immer einen als größtmöglich angenommenen Konsens, z. B. den vom klassischen Schönheitsideal. Das erklärt aber auch, warum selbst die giftigsten Substanzen sehr gut aussehen müssen. Eine Überkommenheit findet sich in Synthesis daher eher im ruinösen Zustand des Filmmaterials selbst, in der Ästhetik der Patina, in Fehlfarben, Blässe, Staub und Flecken. Oberflächen scheinen zersetzt, das Zelluloid ist hier und da schon lädiert. Die Patina suggeriert ein Schema von Ursache und Wirkung zwischen den abgebildeten Chemikalien und dem angegriffenen Trägermaterial, das die Autoren natürlich nicht intendierten. Vielleicht manifestiert sich hierin eine zeitlose, zwar banale, aber eben existenzielle Erkenntnis, denn Verfallsprozesse sind ja nicht bloß kulturgeschichtliche Wiedergänger, sie sind faktisch und nicht aufzuhalten.

DH: In Fabric drehen sich drei reizende Frauen im neuen Gewand synthetischer Stoffe durchs Filmstudio, erlesene Repliken antiker Figuren dienen als Staffage, hin und wieder taucht der schöne Schneider auf. Man könnte meinen, es ginge um die Inkarnation von Winckelmanns Sinnspruch „Edle Einfalt, stille Größe“. Hin und wieder kommt ein Beepton. Ähnlich wie beim Streit um Laokoons Arm begibst du dich mit Fabric in eine Spekulation – worüber?

CG: Die Arbeit, die im Rahmen von Modell und Ruine im Meisterhaus von Moholy-Nagy präsentiert wird, basiert auf einem Film von 1949, bei dem Paul Schuitema Regie führte. Schuitemas vornehmlich grafisches Werk stand schon seit den 1920er Jahren ganz in der Tradition des Bauhauses, er hat das Erscheinungsbild der Moderne in Holland entscheidend geprägt. Er war auch ein sehr interessanter Filmemacher von zumeist frei produzierten Kurzfilmen.

Hier handelt es sich jedoch um eine Auftragsproduktion kurz nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg, um einen Industriefilm über Herstellung und Verkauf von Kunstfasern. Fabric widmet sich dem aussortierten Bildmaterial dieses Films. Im Eye Filmmuseum in Amsterdam lagern lediglich die nicht für die Arbeitskopie verwendeten Reste. Es ist sehr wahrscheinlich, dass keine einzige Kopie des finalen Films noch irgendwo existiert. Aber auch das Aussortierte ist aufschlussreich. Anhand der vorhandenen Filmklappen im Bild und deren Nummerierung lässt sich das Storyboard zumindest fragmentarisch ablesen und bei vielen auf Anschluss und oft wiederholt gedrehten Einstellungen, von denen es jeweils eine Variante in den fertigen Film geschafft hat, kann man sogar die Montage nachvollziehen.

Anders als bei Laokoons Arm ging es mir aber nicht um eine möglichst genaue Rekonstruktion des Films mittels der Verwendung der noch vorhandenen alternativen Einstellungen. Der konzeptionelle Ansatz von Fabric verfolgt etwas Gegenteiliges, nämlich die Umkehr bzw. die Negativform des verschollenen Films. Die verbliebenen Reste, also alle Wiederholungen inklusive der Klappen und kurzen Kameratests sowie der Einstellungen, die durch Fehler der Schauspieler oder der Kamera abgebrochen wurden, habe ich nach fortlaufender Nummerierung angeordnet. Oftmals fehlen Stücke, aber Vor- und Nachlauf der entsprechenden Einstellungen sind vorhanden. Somit deuten die fehlenden Passagen auf ihre Verwendung in der damaligen Arbeitskopie hin. In Fabric sind die Lücken, die diese fehlenden Stücke im Material hinterlassen haben nun geschlossen. Vor- und Nachläufe sind direkt aneinandergeschnitten. Diese Nahtstellen sind auf der ansonsten stummen Tonspur mit kurzen Beeps gekennzeichnet, sie strukturieren gewissermaßen den neu gewebten Film. Zwischen der Darstellung von Herstellungs-, Verarbeitungsprozessen und insbesondere der vermeintlichen Sinnlichkeit von Kunstfaser treten nun die gleichfalls höchst artifiziellen Darstellungsprozesse hervor: die der filmischen Inszenierung.

Das Verfahren der Rekonstruktion trifft eher auf The Eternal Lesson zu, meine zweite Arbeit in der Ausstellung. Hier habe ich rein spekulativ zwei nahezu gleiche, aber niemals identische Varianten eines Films nebeneinander montiert. Die Bilder stammen aus unbearbeitetem Rohmaterial für einen Dokumentarfilm aus den späten 1930er Jahren, der nie fertiggestellt wurde. The Eternal Lesson thematisiert den Begriff des Originals, der Authentizität. Die Bilder zeigen Kunststudenten bei der Arbeit, die versuchen, ihre Vorlagen – etwa ein Stillleben, ein lebendes Modell oder die Replik einer Skulptur – so genau wie möglich zu kopieren. Während die Studierenden im Schaffensprozess ihre Werke mit den Modellen vergleichen, überprüft der Betrachter die Unterschiede in den beiden Filmen. In der Endlosschleife wird dieses „Sich-Abarbeiten“ zum ewig wiederholten Unterricht.

Explore

Überveranstaltung