Re-education

Root Event

werkleitz Festival 2008 Amerika

Parent Event

Three readings on American themes - first
Re-education
20. 10. 2008

Eight students of The Art of Speech & Phonetics at the Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg will present excerpts from American literature. 

The first in the series of three readings will feature ‘re-education classics’, written by representatives of the Lost Generation (1) and distributed in Germany in the wake of World War II: Ernest Hemingway’s short story, A Way You’ll Never Be from the Nick Adams Stories; Thomas Wolfe’s The Company, an early critique of forms of marketing; and Jerome D. Salinger’s The Catcher in the Rye, a novel of adolescent angst, which after having been temporarily indexed (2) became a canon of school literature. Holden, the main character, belongs somewhere between Goethe’s and Plenzdorf’s Werther.

(1) Lost Generation: Gertrude Stein coined this description of the inter-World War young generation.

(2) The book landed temporarily on the censored index in Australia and elsewhere. The persistent use of slang, a major feature of the book, is precisely what caused it to be censored. The first German translation, published in 1954 under the title, Der Mann im Roggen (The Man in the Rye), failed utterly to capture the spirit of the original and was a flop. Heinrich Böll revised it in 1962 yet he, too, translated the key term “fuck you” only as “… you”.

All three readings take place in the Galerie Durchlauferhitzer. They were jointly initiated by ‘Sprechbuehne’, the performance platform of the department of the Art of Speech & Phonetics at the Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg. Creative director of the programme of readings is Martina Haase. The following students will read: Almuth Hattwich, Ulrike Kerrmann, Hannah Kreft, Anni Lehmann, Franziska Löhr, Stephan Meurer, Jakob Mücksch and Juliane Peterson.

Explore

Überveranstaltung

Re-education

Root Event

Werkleitz Festival 2008 Amerika

Parent Event

Lesungen zu Amerika 1
Re-education
20. 10. 2008

Acht Studenten der Sprechwissenschaft an der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg stellen lesend Auszüge amerikanischer Literatur vor.
Die erste von insgesamt drei Lesungen behandelt Klassiker der Re-education in Deutschland. Als Vertreter der Lost Generation (1) wird Ernest Hemingway mit seiner Kurzgeschichte So, wie du niemals sein wirst aus den Nick Adams Stories gelesen, es folgen The Company von Thomas Wolfe, eine frühe Kritik an Formen des Marketings, und Der Fänger im Roggen von Jerome D. Salinger. Der Adoleszenzroman gehört, nach vorübergehender Indizierung (2), längst weltweit zum Kanon der Schullektüre. Seine Hauptfigur Holden ist irgendwo zwischen Goethes und Plenzdorfs Werther einzuordnen.

(1) Lost Generation: von Gertrude Stein geprägte Bezeichnung für die Jugend zwischen den Weltkriegen.

(2) Das Buch wurde unter anderem in Australien vorübergehend auf den Index verbotener Bücher gesetzt. Was den Roman auszeichnet ist die durchgängige Verwendung von Slang, gerade deshalb geriet das Buch auf den Index. Die deutschsprachige Erstausgabe 1954 unter dem Titel Der Mann im Roggen floppte, die Übersetzung ging meilenweit am Originaltext vorbei. Eine sprachliche Überarbeitung erfolgte 1962 durch Heinrich Böll, wobei auch er die Schlüsselstelle „fuck you“ nur mit „… dich“ übersetzte. 

Alle drei Lesungen finden in der Galerie Durchlauferhitzer statt. Sie erfolgen in Kooperation mit der „Sprechbuehne“ am Seminar für Sprechwissenschaft der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg. Es lesen unter künstlerischer Leitung von Martina Haase: Almuth Hattwich, Ulrike Kerrmann, Hannah Kreft, Anni Lehmann, Franziska Löhr, Stephan Meurer, Jakob Mücksch und Juliane Peterson.

Explore

Überveranstaltung