The Problem Now is Future Peace: That is Your Job in Germany

Root Event

werkleitz Festival 2008 Amerika

Parent Event

The Problem Now is Future Peace: That is Your Job in Germany
25. 10. 2008

kuratiert von:

World War II was waged also on screen. Abundant propaganda was filmed on all sides and covered an astonishing range of issues: direct political indoctrination, rules for combat, effective armaments production, cooking with rations and so on. Nor did American production of these short ‘educationals’ by any means cease after the war; rather, it was used to modernize society. Films that praised the benefits of democracy and condemned communism appeared alongside films on road safety, on how to modernize ones kitchen (1), and how to behave in a group or on a first date: in brief, they covered the Dos and Don’ts of the American way of life (2). In Germany, Americans in particular worried about how to turn Germans brainwashed for 12 years by NS propaganda into decent democrats – the effects of propaganda tended at the time to be overestimated. German directors were therefore commissioned to produce – under Allied control – hundreds of re-education films, most of which aimed to impart the democratic values of American role models. The Marshall Plan was later to complement these with a wave of films made all over western Europe. This laid an essential and very successful foundation for Americanisation of the Old World (3).

During their Atlantic passage to Europe, American soldiers were shown Your Job in Germany. This combination of harmless pictures of home life and an extremely aggressive commentary came close to resembling NS propaganda: “Every German is a potential source of trouble. Therefore there must be no fraternisation with any of the German people. Fraternisation means making friends. The German people are not our friends. You will not associate with German men, women or children”. Yet the film apparently made little impression on GIs: Americans were generally held to be the friendliest of the four occupying powers.

By contrast, S. O.S Cleaning Pads, an early parody of TV ads, pokes harmless fun at Teutonic culture: after taking the stage with an obligatory “Achtung!” Hilda and her husband argue about their as yet unwashed dishes, which culminates in an a capella, gender-bend rendition of Wagnerian opera.

Marschieren, marschieren develops a somewhat strange thesis about nomadic Germanic tribes who supposedly later, as Prussians, invented marching, then touches on the misery of this military mode of motion – “To march has only ever brought us bad luck!” – before returning to the opening notion, “[But we] Germans do like to go hiking”. Once the film has established that hiking “has a completely different rhythm”, the public is sent home with this friendly advice: “When you leave the cinema today, please do not march. Walk or amble or, if you are in a hurry, walk quickly or run”. The warning proved useless: seven years later East and West Germanys’ new armies were again on the march.

Not only GIs got around the ban on fraternisation; the official line also quickly switched from “administering the enemy” to “friendship between nations”. Der unsichtbare Stacheldraht bemoans Germans’ prejudiced view of Americans. Based on the Jones and Schulz families’ respective problems with (German) celeriac root and (American) celery sticks, this re-education film portrays a typically jolly attempt at conflict resolution, before counting up American good deeds such as the Berlin Airlift and the Marshall Plan.

Half a century on, a quite different form of education: two kids spare no effort in order to get home with their new computer, on which they begin a non-stop session of the American Forces’ official recruitment game, America’s Army: “Good morning soldier. Today is the M16 training day”. Bored at some point after all, they switch to the motor-racing game, The Need for Speed. Yet this quiet, precise documentary avoids the cliché of ‘media-controlled youth’. At the end of the film we see one of the brothers meditatively playing guitar.

Colosseoloop is a found-footage production centred on the famous amphitheatre, a symbol of the barbarity of imperial power. An American unit in the 1950s, successors to Ancient Hegemon are hunting “Something” – a phantom – in the ruins of Old Europe: something one never actually gets to see. This is hence, a topical parable about the war on terror and its phantom figure, Bin Laden. The title reflects the infinity of the senseless hunt.

Marcel Schwierin

(1) See Jede Frau kann zaubern in the American Beauties programme
(2) Thanks to the Public Domain laws, films commissioned by the American government are available to everyone, without charge. Richard Prelinger has put about 2000 of them online: www. archive.org
(3) An extremely good-value English/German DVD edition featuring 23 films: Selling Democracy. The Films of the Marshall Plan: www. sellingdemocracy.org

Explore

The Problem Now is Future Peace: That is Your Job in Germany

Root Event

Werkleitz Festival 2008 Amerika

Parent Event

The Problem Now is Future Peace: That is Your Job in Germany
25. 10. 2008

kuratiert von:

Der Zweite Weltkrieg war auch ein Krieg der Medien. Auf allen Seiten wurden reichlich Propagandafilme gedreht, die eine erstaunliche Bandbreite an Themen abdeckten: direkte politische Indoktrination, Regeln im Kampf, effektive Rüstungsproduktion, Kochen im Mangel etc. Nach dem Krieg wurde in den USA die Produktion dieser kurzen Educationals keineswegs eingestellt, sondern zur Modernisierung der Gesellschaft verwendet. Neben Filmen, die die Vorzüge der Demokratie priesen und den Kommunismus verdammten, traten Küchenmodernisierungsvorschläge (1), verkehrserzieherische Streifen bis hin zu Anleitungen für das Verhalten in Gruppen und beim ersten Date, kurz: die Dos and Don’ts des American Way of Life (2). In Deutschland machten sich besonders die Amerikaner große Sorgen, wie man die durch zwölf Jahre NS-Propaganda gehirngewaschenen Deutschen – die Wirkung von Propaganda wurde damals allgemein überschätzt – zu aufrechten Demokraten umerziehen könne. Daher wurden im Auftrag und unter Kontrolle der Alliierten von deutschen Regisseuren hunderte von Re-education-Filmen gedreht, bei denen es meist um das Erlernen demokratischen Verhaltens nach amerikanischem Vorbild ging. Ergänzt wurden diese von den späteren Marshall-Plan-Filmen, die in ganz Westeuropa produziert wurden. Hier wurde ein wesentlicher und sehr erfolgreicher Grundstein für die Amerikanisierung des alten Kontinents gelegt (3).

Auf der Schiffspassage nach Europa wurde den amerikanischen Besatzungssoldaten Your Job in Germany gezeigt, der harmlose Heimatbilder mit einem extrem aggressiven Kommentar verbindet – und dabei der NS-Propaganda ziemlich ähnlich wird: “Every German is a potential source of trouble. Therefore there must be no fraternisation with any of the German people. Fraternisation means making friends. The German people are not our friends. You will not associate with German men, women or children.” Doch der Film scheint keinen besonderen Eindruck auf die GIs gemacht zu haben: Die Amerikaner galten allgemein als die freundlichsten der vier Besatzungsmächte.

Auf harmlose Weise wird dagegen die teutonische Kultur in der frühen TV-Werbeparodie für S. O.S Cleaning Pads durch den Kakao gezogen: nachdem sie die Bühne mit einem obligatorischen „Achtung!“ betreten haben, streiten sich Hilda und ihr Mann um den nicht gemachten Abwasch, der in eine a capella Wagneroper mit Rollentausch mündet.

Marschieren, marschieren entwickelt eine etwas seltsame These von den wandernden Germanen, die später als Preußen das Marschieren erfunden hätten, um dann über das Elend dieser soldatischen Fortbewegung – „uns hat das Marschieren nur Unglück gebracht“ – wieder zum Ausgangspunkt zu kommen: „Aber uns Deutschen liegt nun mal das Wandern“. Nachdem der Film bei letzterem einen „ganz anderen Rhythmus“ feststellt, wird das Publikum mit einem freundlich vorgetragenen Ratschlag nach Hause geschickt: „Und wenn Sie heute das Kino verlassen, dann bitte, marschieren Sie nicht, gehen Sie, schlendern Sie; wenn sie es eilig haben laufen oder rennen Sie.“ Die Warnung fruchtete nicht: Sieben Jahre später marschierten in Ost- und Westdeutschland die neuen Armeen.

Nicht nur die GIs unterliefen das Fraternisierungsverbot, auch die offiziellen Stellen schalteten schnell von Feindverwaltung auf Völkerfreundschaft um. Der unsichtbare Stacheldraht beklagt die Vorurteile der Deutschen gegenüber den Amerikanern und konstruiert um Sellerieknollen (deutsch) und Selleriestangen (amerikanisch) der Familien Schulz und Jones eine für den Re-education-Film typisch heitere Problemlösungsstrategie, um schließlich Wohltaten der Amerikaner wie Luftbrücke und Marshall-Plan aufzuzählen.

Ein halbes Jahrhundert später, eine ganz andere Form der „Education“. Zwei Jugendliche nehmen enorme Mühen auf sich, um ihren neuen Computer nach Hause zu schaffen, auf dem sie dann ununterbrochen America’s Army spielen, das offizielle Rekrutierungsspiel der amerikanischen Streitkräfte: “Good morning soldier, today is the M16 training day.” Als es ihnen irgendwann doch langweilig wird, steigen sie auf das Autorennenspiel The Need for Speed um. Doch der ruhige und präzise Dokumentarfilm verfällt nicht dem Klischee medienhöriger Jugend: Am Ende des Filmes sieht man einen der Brüder meditativ Gitarre spielen.

Colosseoloop ist eine Found-Footage-Arbeit, in deren Zentrum das berühmte Amphitheater steht, Symbol der imperialen Macht und ihrer Grausamkeit. Eine amerikanische Einheit aus den 50er Jahren, Nachfolger des antiken Hegemons, jagt in den Ruinen des alten Europas „Etwas“, ein Phantom, welches man nie zu Gesicht bekommt – eine sehr aktuelle Parabel auf den Krieg gegen den Terror und sein Phantom Bin Laden. Der Titel Colosseoloop spiegelt die Unendlichkeit der sinnlosen Hatz.

Marcel Schwierin

(1) Siehe Jede Frau kann zaubern im Programm American Beauties.
(2) Dank des Public Domain laws sind Filme, die im Auftrag der US-Regierung hergestellt wurden, für jeden frei nutzbar. Richard Prelinger hat etwa 2000 davon online gestellt: www. archive.org
(3) Eine sehr preiswerte deutsch-englische DVD-Edition mit 23 Filmen: Selling Democracy. Die Filme des Marshall-Planes. [Selling Democracy. The Films of the Marshall Plan.] http://www. bpb.de/geschichte/deutsche-geschichte/marshallplan/

Explore