Superparadise

Root Event

Werkleitz Anniversary Festival 2013 Utopien vermeiden

Parent Event

Utopien vermeiden Ausstellungsparcours
Superparadise
DE 2013
Superparadise, 2013, © Peggy Buth
Superparadise, 2013, © Peggy Buth
© Wieland Krause
Superparadise, 2013, © Peggy Buth
© Wieland Krause

Close Worlds: Our house, in the middle of our street 1

On the text-image montage Superparadise by Peggy Buth

Prologue: Self-empowerment

A plain house from the 1960s, blinds shut, a rubbish bin next to the entrance, a charmless garage, a banal, workaday urban utility space, on the functionality scale scoring at the most as an inferior stowage for rent-paying humans and machines (i. e. automobiles). A barren wilderness, were it not for the gay and lesbian rainbow flag at the entrance above the bin of above mentioned house. Is this a signifier for passion in the midst of despair, for sexual desire, or simply for the usual displacement of minorities to the back lots of urban centres? The caption contains the title of Peggy Buth’s photo series, Superparadise, and specifies the location and its parameters of desire: “Sachsendamm 75-77, Berlin Schöneberg / Böse Buben SM Club für Männer (seit 1996)” [Bad Boys. SM Club for Men since 1996]. The observer tends to read the spatial representation and the sexual practices deviating from the norm as synonymous, thinking: where, if not here? Nevertheless, no one is hanging out colourful flags idealising the interpersonal games being played in black leather. And then there is this slovenly self-referential “bad boys”. Self-irony, self-assuredness, collective desire, self- empowerment and community conquest of territoryy – it’s hard to be more self-confident than this, nor can there perhaps be a stronger claim to a space that is not yet there, a utopia of self determination.2 The prerequisite is dislodgement from the normative constructions of the dominant heterosexual social programmes opposed less to divergent sexual preferences as to their manifestation within the crypto-patriarchal, religious power structures that make such sadomasochist practices possible within the system of economic exploitation in the first placee. From this gloom of alienated desires emerge those quotidian monstrosities, driven by diverse phobias, who feel called to enforce the norm by means of bodily and verbal violence and vandalismy.

Conquest – Nollendorfkiez

Nollendorfkiez has been developing since the 1970s into a lived utopia for queer communities who are represent an above average contingent of the population here. The first clubs for gays and lesbians opened here in the 1920s and 30s. Today, there are numerous shops, clubs, restaurants and cafés mainly run by and for gay men. At the same time, Nollendorfkiez has topped the charts for years in federal statistics on homophobic violence. Some homophobes appear unable to cope with the queer conquest of the site, which challenges automatically the allegedly natural heterosexual normative order reigning in public space.

Method – Peggy Buth

Peggy Buth’s work is devoted to continually re-reading, re-organising and relocating discourses on knowledge and power, reality and fiction, space and the body, identity and sexuality. The work is centred around archives and the decontextualising and recontextualising, revaluation and translation of the iconic, audiovisual and text objects found in them, including her own work. In long-term projects like Desire of Representation she also employs displaced and displacing re-enactment to explore the dispositif consisting of archives, libraries, museums, theatre, cinema and television, exhibitions and publications. As such, Buth’s artistic practice and its thematic and formal references revolve more around heterotopias than utopias. She could be described as a heterotopologist in the Foucauldian sense, creating places or emplacements in which the incommensurable layers are superimposed, while pushing them against the grain.

Counter-emplacements – Superparadise

For Superparadise, Buth researched on the hand protocols, newspaper articles and police reports on more recent attacks against homosexuals – documents found chiefly in the archive of the Berlin anti-violence project Maneo. In addition, she photographed various locations in the neighbourhood. Several indicate immediately the queer “occupation” of Nollendorfkiezz. Others show apparently neutral sites whose current or former queer associations are barely legible. From this material she produced a series of 20 text-image composites, each consisting of three or four photographs, a caption and a text. The photographs from each group are taken from the same location, indicated in the caption. The text to the right of the images is drawn from the various reports on homophobic acts of violence researched by Buth. There is no factual connection between the reports and the photographs assigned to them. The act and the place, each facts in themselves, are joined to effect a construction at once impossible and possible. As such, they reflect not so much utopias as heterotopias, such as those described by Foucault as “counter-emplacements”, and as places “outside of all places”, that can at the same time be factually located.3

Close worlds – Homeland 4

It could of course be argued that the factual, whether in the form of built space, language or image, is fundamentally constructed. The spatio-social unity, established in the images by the conjoining of contemporary and historical sites such as bars, clubs, cinemas and self-help centres for prostitutes from the gay and lesbian scene, is also a synonym for the motif of belonging to a place. Nollendorfkiez owes its identity partly to alternative forms of space production that go hand in hand with alternative forms of identification, familiarity, and active penetration of the space, in the course of which the space becomes the product of the people active in it and thus a homeland in the classical sense.

Space-time

Homeland is a spatio-temporal construct in which the past and the present leave deposits as well as involving continual re-arrival and renewed observation. The sensations making up familiarity are the minimal shifts, the barely discernible alterations, the event on the edge of vision. What fundamentally structures our relation to space and endows it with continuity are the things that show themselves in a different light when vanishing around the corner, the brief perceptions of a sign or thing never seen before on the paths tread over years. Buth’s photo series exhibits precisely this state of affairs, by means of close up and distant views, frontals, truncation, repetition and slight overlaps parsing the locations into sequences, thus displaying them – in contrast to documentary and crime scene photography – in the process of the subjectivisation of space. As representations the images are therefore the elements of an absolute construction. This is evident not only in the selection of the photographic standpoint but also in the use of montage in some images to make the same person appear twice in the same picture frame.

Epilogue: Keep our neighbourhood warm

Most of the photos were taken in strong noon sunlight, rendering the colours over-amplified and artificial. This artificiality corresponds with the title Superparadise, which immediately provokes a sense of overkill. The title references a disco song from the 1970s by the transgender singer Romy Haag, linking the piece to the context of queer glamour. The shocking reports of violence against homosexuals are less confirmed by the images than reversed or re-dedicated. The occupation of space is also a symbolic and concrete political act. “Our house, in the middle of our street.”

Hans D. Christ and Iris Dressler

1 Our House, Madness, 1982.

2The author is thinking here of the voluntary exercise of sexual power play based on consent and without economic compulsion. That there is no compulsion in the queer scene is being assumed for the sake of argument, not meant as absolutely true, and is directed against the bigotry of heterosexual culture advancing its norms as generally binding. The objective is to draw attention to the fact that the potential for violence and abuse is at the core of the religious, patriarchal norm, rather than an exception to it. This fact has been born out once again by the latest study on violence against women.

3http://www. foucault.info/documents/heterotopia/foucault.hetero…

4 The terminology in the following chapter and its title are adapted from Hermann Bausinger’s concept of homeland. Cf. Hermann Bausinger, Konrad Köstlin (eds.), Heimat und Identität. Probleme regionaler Kultur. Neumünster 1980.

Autor des Textes

Hans D. Christ and Iris Dressler

text-image montage in 20 parts, on MDF behind glass

Explore

Superparadise

Root Event

Werkleitz Jubiläums Festival 2013 Utopien vermeiden

Parent Event

Utopien vermeiden Ausstellungsparcours
Superparadise
DE 2013
Superparadise, 2013, © Peggy Buth
Superparadise, 2013, © Peggy Buth
© Wieland Krause
Superparadise, 2013, © Peggy Buth
© Wieland Krause

Nahwelten: Our house in the middle of our street! 1

Zur Bild-Text-Montage Superparadise von Peggy Buth

Prolog: Selbstermächtigung

Ein schmuckloses 1960er-Jahre-Haus, geschlossene Jalousien, eine Abfalltonne neben der Eingangstür, ein Garagenhof ohne jegliche Attraktion, ein banaler, alltäglicher urbaner Nutzraum, der auf der Skala räumlicher Funktionalität maximal als minderwertiger Stauraum für Menschen zur Miete und Maschinen (Autos) betrachtet werden kann. Eine unwirtliche Ödnis, wäre da nicht am Eingang des erwähnten Hauses oberhalb der Mülltonne die Regenbogenfahne der Schwulen- und Lesbenszene angebracht. Zeigt sich hier mitten in der Trostlosigkeit etwa Leidenschaft, sexuelles Begehren oder doch nur die oftmals typische Verdrängung von Minderheiten in die Hinterhöfe städtischer Zentren? Die Bildunterzeile nennt den Titel der Fotoserie von Peggy Buth Superparadise und präzisiert die Ortsangaben wie die Begehrenslage, „Sachsendamm 75-77, Berlin Schöneberg / Böse Buben SM Club für Männer (seit 1996)“. Man neigt dazu, die räumliche Repräsentation und die von der Norm abweichenden Sexualpraktiken synonym zu setzen – wenn nicht dort, wo dann sonst. Allerdings hängt man doch keine bunte Fahne vor die Tür, um auf die im schwarzen Leder praktizierten Beziehungsspiele verklärend hinzuweisen, und dann noch diese lümmelhafte Selbstbezeichnung „Böse Buben“. Selbstironie, Ich-Souveränität, gemeinschaftliches Begehren, Selbstermächtigung und Raumaneignung für das Gemeinsame – mehr Selbstbewusstsein geht kaum und mehr Behauptung eines Noch-Nicht-Raums, einer Utopie des selbstbestimmten Lebens vielleicht auch nicht.2 Grundvoraussetzung ist hierfür die Auslösung aus den normativen Konstruktionen heterosexuell dominierter Gesellschaftsentwürfe, deren Problem es weniger ist, andere sexuelle Präferenzen zu haben, sondern diese in unausgesprochenen patriarchal religiösen Machtstrukturen zu manifestieren, die unter anderem sadomasochistische Praktiken erst im System der ökonomischen Ausbeutung verhandelbar machen. Aus diesem Dunkel der entfremdeten Begehrensstrukturen treten dann jene alltäglichen Monstrositäten zutage, die, durch diverse Phobien getragen, sich zum Stellvertreter der Norm berufen fühlen und letztere mit körperlicher wie verbaler Gewalt und Vandalismus durchsetzen wollen.

Aneignung – DerNollendorfkiez

DerNollendorfkiez hat sich seit den 1970er Jahren zu einer gelebten Utopie für queere Gemeinschaften entwickelt, die hier mittlerweile überdurchschnittlich vertreten sind. Erste Clubs für Lesben und Schwule öffneten bereits in den 1920er und 1930er Jahren. Heute gibt es zahlreiche Geschäfte, Clubs, Restaurants und Cafés, die vorwiegend von und für schwule Männer betrieben werden. Andererseits steht der Nollendorfkiez seit Jahren in den bundesweiten Statistiken zu homophob motivierter Gewalt an oberster Stelle. Die queere Aneignung dieses Ortes, mit der die scheinbar naturgegebene heteronormative Ordnung des öffentlichen Raumes per se in Frage gestellt wird, scheint für einige Homophobe nicht aushaltbar zu sein.

Methode – Peggy Buth

Peggy Buth widmet sich in ihren Arbeiten einer beständigen Relektüre, Neuordnung und Neuverortung der Diskurse von Wissen und Macht, Wirklichkeit und Fiktion, Raum und Körper, Identität und Sexualität. Die Arbeit mit, in Archiven und über Archive steht dabei ebenso im Mittelpunkt wie die De- und Rekontextualisierung, Umbewertung und Übersetzung der hier gefundenen bildlichen, audiovisuellen und textlichen Objekte – zu denen mitunter auch ihre eigenen Werke zählen. In Langzeitprojekten wie Desire of Representation sind es zudem die Dispositive von Archiv, Bibliothek und Museum, Theater, Kino und Fernsehen, Ausstellung und Publikation, die sie in Form verschobener und verschiebender Reenactments auslotet. Insofern kreisen die künstlerische Praxis sowie die inhaltlichen und formalen Referenzen von Peggy Buth weniger um Utopien als vielmehr um Heterotopien. Man könnte sie als eine Art Heterotopologin im Foucaultschen Sinne beschreiben, die Orte oder Verortungen, an bzw. in denen sich das eigentlich Unvereinbare überlagert, gleichermaßen schafft wie gegen den Strich bürstet.

Gegenplazierungen– Superparadise

Buth hat für die Arbeit Superparadise zum einen zahlreiche Protokolle, Zeitungs- und Polizeiberichte über jüngere Gewaltangriffe gegen Schwule und Lesben recherchiert – Dokumente, die sie insbesondere im Archiv des Berliner Antigewalt-Projektes Maneo fand. Zum anderen hat sie verschiedene Orte im Nollendorfkiez fotografiert: Einige davon weisen unmittelbar auf die queere „Besetzung“ des Viertels hin, andere dagegen zeigen scheinbar neutrale Orte, deren einstige oder heutige queere Konnotationen kaum abzulesen sind.

Auf dieser Grundlage ist eine Serie von 20 Text-Bild-Montagen entstanden, die jeweils eine Anordnung aus drei bis vier Fotografien, einer Legende und einem Text umfassen. Die Fotografien jeder Tafel sind an ein und demselben Ort aufgenommen worden, der in der Legende angegeben wird. Der Text, der rechts neben den Bildfolgen platziert ist, entstammt den Berichten zu den verschiedenen von Buth recherchierten homophoben Gewalttaten. Zwischen diesen Berichten und den ihnen zugeordneten Fotografien gibt es keinerlei faktische Beziehungen. Die an sich faktische Tat und der an sich faktische Ort werden als eine zugleich unmögliche wie mögliche Konstruktion miteinander verschränkt. Insofern bilden sie miteinander weniger utopische denn heterotope Räumeab, wie Foucault sie als „Gegenplazierungen oder Widerlager“, als „Orte außerhalb aller Orte“, die gleichwohl „tatsächlich geortet werden können“,3 beschrieben hat.

Nahwelten – Heimat 4

Nun könnte man sagen, dass alles Faktische, ob es nun in Form von gebautem Raum, Sprache oder Bildern daherkommt, prinzipiell eine Konstruktion ist. Die räumlich-soziale Einheit, die in den Bildern durch die Zusammenfügung von gegenwärtigen wie historischen Orten wie Bars, Clubs, Kinos, Selbsthilfegruppen für Stricher der schwul-lesbischen Szene hergestellt wird, steht zudem als Synonym für das Motiv eines Beheimatet-Seins. Der Nollendorfkiez hat seine Identität teilweise anderen Formen der Raumproduktion zu verdanken, und damit gehen andere Formen der Identifikation, der Vertrautheit und aktiven Durchdringung des Raums einher, womit der Raum über längere Zeiträume zum Produkt der in ihm aktiven Akteure und somit im klassischen Sinne Heimat wird.

Raumzeit

Heimat ist ein raumzeitliches Konstrukt, in dem sich Historisches wie Aktuelles niederschlägt und zu dem ein ständiges erneutes Ankommen, ein erneutes Betrachten situiert ist. Die Sensationen im Vertrauten sind die minimalen Verschiebungen, die kaum merklichen Veränderungen, das Ereignis im Augenwinkel. Es sind die Dinge, die sich in der Bewegung um die Ecke erstmals in einem anderen Licht zeigen, die kurzweilige Wahrnehmung eines Zeichens oder das Nie-Gesehene im jahrelang Begangenen, die wesentlich unsere Beziehung zum Raum strukturieren und ihn mit Kontinuitäten besetzen. Die Fotoreihen von Peggy Buth entwickeln sehr exakt dieses Verhältnis, indem sie mittels Nah-Fernsicht, Frontalaufnahme, Anschnitt, Wiederholung und minimalen Raumklappungen die Orte in Sequenzen zergliedern und sie damit anders als die Dokumentations- oder Tatortfotografie als sich im Prozess der Subjektivierung von Raum befindliche anzeigen. Die Bilder sind als Repräsentationen somit Momente einer absoluten Konstruktion, die sich nicht nur in der Wahl des fotografischen Standpunkts, sondern in einigen Bildern mittels der Montage von in ein und derselben Bildeinstellung zweifach auftretenden Personen niederschlägt.

Epilog: Unser Kiez bleibt warm

Die Aufnahmen wurden größtenteils bei strahlender Mittagssonne gemacht, so dass die Farbigkeit ein wenig übersteuert und künstlich wirkt. Diese Artifizialität entspricht dem Titel der Arbeit, Superparadise, bei dem sich unmittelbar ein gewisser Geschmack des „Zu-viel-des-Guten“ einstellt. Er bezieht sich auf einen Disco-Song der Transgender-Sängerin Romy Haag aus den 1970er Jahren, was ihn wiederum im Kontext von queerem Glamour verortet.

Die eher erschütternden Berichte der Gewaltangriffe gegen Homosexuelle werden von den Bildern nicht bestätigt, sondern vielmehr umgekehrt oder umgewidmet. Die Besetzung von Raum ist symbolisch wie konkret immer ein politischer Akt. „Our house in the middle of our street!“
Hans D. Christ und Iris Dressler

1 Our House, Madness, 1982.

2 Der Autor unterstellt die souveräne, auf klaren Vereinbarungen außerhalb ökonomischer Zwangslagen beruhende Ausübung sexueller Machtverhältnisse. Die Annahme, Zwangslagen in Queer-Szenen auszuschließen, ist der hier gewählten Argumentationsfigur geschuldet, nicht verabsolutierend gemeint und zielt auf die sich als normativ verbindlich gebärdende Bigotterie des heterosexuellen Sektors. Es gilt, darauf aufmerksam zu machen, dass das Gewalt- und Missbrauchspotential Kern des religiös patriarchalen Normengebildes ist und nicht der Sonderfall, wie es die jüngste Studie zur Gewalt gegen Frauen erneut belegt.

3 Michel Foucault, Andere Räume. In: Karlheinz Barck u. a. (Hg.), Aisthesis. Wahrnehmung heute oder Perspektiven einer anderen Ästhetik. Leipzig 1992, S. 39.Zitiert nach:www.uni-weimar.de/cms/uploads/media/Foucault_AndereRaeume_01.pdf

4 Der Zwischentitel und Begrifflichkeiten in dem folgenden Textabschnitt adaptieren den Heimatbegriff von Hermann Bausinger: Hermann Bausinger, Konrad Köstlin (Hg.), Heimat und Identität. Probleme regionaler Kultur. Neumünster 1980.

Autor des Textes

Hans D. Christ and Iris Dressler

20-teilige Bild-Text-Montage hinter Glas auf MDF kaschiert

Explore