Spiritual Still

Root Event

werkleitz Biennale 2006 Happy Believers
Spiritual Still
CO 2005

The face, scratched up beyond recognition, on always the same poster, belongs to one of the most successful idols in the world – the American singer Britney Spears. Millions of young people belong to her fan community, fascinated by the perfect self-presentations of the pop star. 
None of that is anymore visible in François Bucher’s Spiritual Still (2005). The more than 30 photographs, taken in the New York subway shortly after September 11, 2001, bear traces of a communal ‘spiritual’ awakening. The New Yorkers, who because of the events in their city are obviously no longer able to bear the glamorous and superficial self-presentation of the singer, attempt a collective protest. All imaginable forms of displeasure are directed with the quality of a secular iconoclasm against the idol who, unimpressed by everything, advertises her concert in Las Vegas. 
With the attack on the poster, the singer ironically undergoes almost a quasi-religious ‘reanimation’. Corresponding to her oscillation of staging herself as a whore and saint, these pictures of Britney Spears speak well-nigh of martyrdom. The singer seems to question the sufferings inflicted on her with a corresponding pop-pathos, but at the same time she seems to bear them stoically, as her song Girl in the Mirror reports: 

There’s a girl in the mirror /
I wonder who she is /
Sometimes I think I know her /
Sometimes I really wish I did /
There’s a story in her eyes /
Lullabies and goodbyes /
When she’s looking back at me /
I can tell her heart is broken easily




If I could /
I would tell her /
Not to be afraid /
The pain that she’s feeling /
That sense of loneliness will fade /
So dry your tears and rest assured /
Love will find you like before /
When she’s looking back at me /
I know nothing really works that easily /




I can’t believe what I see /
No … /
oh the girl in my mirror /
The girl in my mirror is me /
Ohh … is me 

For François Bucher’s artistic practice, the engagement with the image, its tradition, charge, and meaning dependent on the context in visual culture is decisive; this can also be seen in his new film Sopraluoghi a Roma (2006). 2
While here the city of Rome presents itself in advertising, shows, TV, or guided tours for tourists, the voice-over makes clear that the film is looking for something else. Starting with Caravaggio’s Supper in Emmaus (1602/03), the camera begins a search for an image that will only come into being in the course of the film. So we hear, for example,: “these images were not taken by me …”, “I could use the face of this person for …” or “I have no words for these images …”.

Text by Angelika Richter (From: On Icons, Idols, Avatars, and Other Proxies)

2 The title is an allusion to Pier Paolo Pasolini’s motif search in Palestine, Sopraluoghi in Palestina, for the film Il vangelo secondo Matteo (1964).

slide projection with sound

Explore

Überveranstaltung

Spiritual Still

Root Event

werkleitz Biennale 2006 Happy Believers
Spiritual Still
CO 2005

Das bis zur Unkenntlichkeit zerkratzte Gesicht auf dem immer wieder gleichen Poster gehört einem der weltweit erfolgreichsten Idole – der US-amerikanischen Sängerin Britney Spears. Millionen Jugendliche gehören zu ihrer Fangemeinde, fasziniert von den perfekten Selbst-Inszenierungen des Popstars.
In François Buchers Spiritual Still (2005) ist davon nichts mehr zu sehen. Die über 30 Fotografien, aufgenommen in der New Yorker U-Bahn kurz nach dem 11. September 2001, weisen Spuren eines gemeinschaftlichen, ‚spirituellen’ Erwachens auf. Die New Yorker, auf Grund der Ereignisse in ihrer Stadt offensichtlich nicht mehr in der Lage, das glamouröse und vordergründige Sich-in-Szene-Setzen der Sängerin zu ertragen, proben ein kollektives Aufbegehren. Alle erdenklichen Formen des Unmutes mit der Qualität eines säkularen Bildersturms richten sich gegen das Idol, das von allem unbeeindruckt ihr Konzert in Las Vegas ankündigt.
Mit dem Angriff auf ihre Poster aber erlebt die Sängerin ironischerweise gleichsam eine quasi-religiöse ‚Wiederbelebung’. Entsprechend ihrem damaligen Oszillieren zwischen den Inszenierungen einer Hure und einer Heiligen sprechen die Bilder Britney Spears’ nun geradezu von einem Martyrium. Die ihr zugefügten Leiden scheint die Sängerin dabei mit dem entsprechenden Pop-Pathos zu hinterfragen, aber gleichzeitig stoisch zu ertragen, wie ihr Song Girl in the Mirror zu berichten weiß:

There’s a girl in the mirror
I wonder who she is
Sometimes I think I know her
Sometimes I really wish I did
There’s a story in her eyes
Lullabies and goodbyes
When she’s looking back at me
I can tell her heart is broken easily



If I could
I would tell her
Not to be afraid
The pain that she’s feeling
That sense of loneliness will fade
So dry your tears and rest assured
Love will find you like before
When she’s looking back at me
I know nothing really works that easily



I can’t believe what I see
No …
oh the girl in my mirror
The girl in my mirror is me
Ohh … is me

Für die künstlerische Praxis François Buchers ist die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Bild, seiner Überlieferung, Aufladung und kontextabhängigen Bedeutung in der visuellen Kultur maßgeblich, was sich auch in seinem neuen Film Sopraluoghi a Roma (2006)2 zeigt.
Während sich darin die Stadt Rom durch Werbung, Shows, Fernsehen oder Führungen für Touristen selbst ausstellt, wird durch das voice-over deutlich, dass der Film nach etwas Anderem Ausschau hält. Ausgehend von Caravaggios Das Abendmahl in Emmaus (1602/03) begibt sich die Kamera auf die Suche nach einem Bild, das im Laufe des Films erst noch entstehen wird. So heißt es darin: „these images were not taken by me …“, „I could use the face of this person for …“ oder „I have no words for these images …“.

 

2 Der Titel ist eine Anlehnung an Pier Paolo Pasolinis Motivsuche in Palästina, Sopraluoghi in Palestina, für den Spielfilm Il vangelo secondo Matteo (1964).

(Angelika Richter: Von Ikonen, Idolen, Avataren und anderen Stellvertretern)

François Bucher, CO 2005, Diaprojektion mit Sound

Explore

Überveranstaltung