NET.ART GENERATOR

Root Event

4. Werkleitz Biennale real[work]

Parent Event

NET.ART GENERATOR

NET.ART GENERATOR
Automatisation and Division of Work in Art Production

Work today is seen as synonimous with duty, obedience, conformity, monotony and exploitation, but hardly associated with „the practice of creative joy“. (Negri/Hardt) 1  Even the reality of artistic production lacks this creative joy, but is dominated by conditions and deadlines. One way out of this dilemma is the Net Art Generator. With this tool, artistic production can be automated; the artist saves valuable time and energy.

In 1997, the first precursor of the „net.art generator“ was developed. For the project „Female Extension“ a computer programme (Perl-script) randomly collected HTML material in the www and recombined it automatically. In this way individual net art projects for 289 female virtual net artists were generated (http://www. obn.org/femext). In 1999, the artist developed a successor to her Female Extension: the net.art generator.

In cooperation with various programmers* three different variations were worked out so far. They are either more graphics- or more text-oriented and can build up websites of varying complexity. One condition was to write a Perl-script, which, based on the selection of a project title as well as the artist’s name, set several (highly refined) search machines going. The material found in this way in the www (images and text) were, as a next step, combined to a new HTML-code. These automatically generated websites can be filed in an archive, the net.art gallery, and are accessible through the – also automatically generated – entry page. Sollfrank has the work done for her, as she propagates on her front page: „A smart artist makes the machine do the work!“

In spite of the playful attitude when dealing with the basic principles of (net)art, the net.art generator raises a lot of important questions on art in the information age. To mention a few: authorship, the artist’s image, the original, the „material“ of digital media, the definition of the oevre and the accessibility of digital art.

(Cornelia Sollfrank, Inke Arns)

* Our special thanks to:
Ryan Johnston, the Banff Centre for the Arts, Canada: generator I
Luka Frelih, Ljudmila Media Art Lab, Ljubljana, Slovenia: generator II
Barbara Thoens and Ralf Prehn, Chaos Computer Club, Hamburg: generator III

1 „Die Arbeit des Dionysos“, Antonio Negri/ Michael Hardt, Edition ID-Archiv, 1997

Explore

Überveranstaltung

NET.ART GENERATOR

Root Event

4. Werkleitz Biennale real[work]

Parent Event

NET.ART GENERATOR

Arbeit wird heute mit Pflicht, Zwang, Gehorsam, Anpassung, Monotonie und Ausbeutung gleich gesetzt, aber kaum mit einer „Praxis schöpferischer Freude“. (Negri/Hardt) 1 Selbst der Alltag künstlerischer Produktion lässt wenig erkennen von dieser schöpferischen Freude, sondern ist geprägt von Vorgaben und Termindruck. Einen Ausweg aus dieser Misere bietet der Netzkunstgenerator. Durch seinen Einsatz kann künstlerische Produktion automatisiert werden; der/die KünstlerIn spart wertvolle Zeit und Energien.

1997 entstand der erste Vorläufer des „net.art generators“. Für das Projekt „Female Extension“ wurden mit Hilfe eines Computerprogrammes (Perl-script), das im WWW beliebiges HTML-Material sammelte und automatisch rekombinierte, individuelle Netzkunst-Projekte für 289 virtuelle Netzkünstlerinnen http://www. obn.org/femext generiert. 1999 entwickelte die Künstlerin eine Fortführung ihrer Female Extension: den Netzkunstgenerator.

In Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen ProgrammiererInnen* wurden bisher drei unterschiedliche Varianten ausgearbeitet. Sie sind mehr grafik- bzw. textorientiert und bauen Websites unterschiedlicher Komplexität. Vorgabe war, ein Perl-script zu schreiben, das, ausgehend von der Eingabe eines Werktitels sowie eines „Künstlernamens“, durch den Benutzer die Abfrage mehrerer (jeweils definierter) Suchmaschinen in Gang setzt. Das so im WWW gefundene Material (Bilder und Texte) wird dann in einem nächsten Schritt zu neuem HTML-Code zusammen gebaut. Diese automatisch generierten Websites können in einem Archiv bzw. der „net.art gallery“ abgespeichert werden und sind über die ebenfalls automatisch generierte Eingangsseite zu erreichen. Sollfrank lässt arbeiten, denn, so das Motto der Einstiegsseite: „A smart artist makes the machine do the work!“

Trotz des spielerischen Umgangs mit den Grundprinzipien der (Netz-)kunst wirft der Netzkunstgenerator die grundsätzlichen Fragen der Kunst im Informationszeitalter auf, z. B. die der Autorschaft, des Künstlerbildes, des Originals, des „Materials“ digitaler Medien, des Werkbegriffes und der Zugänglichkeit digitaler Kunst.

Besonderen Dank an die ProgrammiererInnen: Ryan Johnston, the Banff Centre for the Arts, Canada: generator I; Luka Frelih, Ljudmila Media Art Lab, Ljubljana, Slovenia: generator II; Barbara Thoens und Ralf Prehn, Chaos Computer Club, Hamburg: generator III

Explore

Überveranstaltung