Museum of Non Participation

Root Event

Werkleitz Festival 2009 .move – new european media art

Parent Event

Werkleitz Festival 2009 .move – new european media art Ausstellungsparcours
Museum of Non Participation

Respondent

Museum of Non Participation
Museum of Non Participation

Marcel Schwierin

KAREN MIRZA & BRAD BUTLER, Museum of Non Participation

The Museum of Non Participation is a project of the other places. Karen Mirza and Brad Butler counter the current concept of the museum as a closed container for the conservation of established art with the original Greek notion of the museum as the vital ‘place of the muses’ – which premises an essentially imaginary calibre. The museum by today’s definition is a site of exclusionary practice: it is accessible as a platform to very few artists respectively artworks and – in global terms – to a very limited number of visitors. Contemporary art is excluded on two counts: neither museums (unlike the muses) nor the public are partial to it.

Karen Mirza and Brad Butler are from the UK, a country full of museums that are in turn full of de-contextualized cultural artefacts. They travel a great deal, as almost all grants for artists today are bound to a particular location – a point reflected also in the .move title. They thus found themselves once in Pakistan’s capital, Karachi, a city with practically no museums, a city where contemporary art is barely present. In this post-colonial situation they developed the concept of another museum, a museum as an act of intervention, a museum as a locus of dialogue.

The Museum of Non Participation is bound neither to a place nor a medium; nor is it established, who is the artist and who the recipient. The classical path of the western ego – here the artistic genius and his work, there the public, between them the museum, as a mediating instance – is to be diverted by a more collective, more discursive form of participation. In consequence, workshops, public talks, city tours and readings were instigated in collaboration with local artists, authors and activists. Communicating by means of murals, which is common in Pakistan, was adopted in order to anchor the project in public space.

Therefore, when Brad Butler, Karen Mirza and activist Raymon Abdullah together execute a public mural in Karachi – in this case, the Museum of Non Participation – it exists as such, even if nothing more takes place at the site. The Museum of Non Participation is a museal assertion. The paradox of a title that actually describes the case of a normal museum in which neither artists nor the public participate is an ironic challenge, and points to the imaginary nature of the project. It really is a non-museum.

In The Exception and the Rule (Pakistan/UK 2009, 37 min.), a film shot in Karachi as part of the Museum of Non Participation project, the aforementioned challenges crop up again in a similar style, which references problematic aspects of the ethnographic documentary film. How might one make a film about a foreign culture and thereby get away from ones own inscribed images of that culture? Furthermore, is it possible to make such a film and thereby include the perspectives of those being filmed? And, finally, which film genre is able to deal with this kind of theoretical issue?

The result is an extremely idiosyncratic hybrid composed of various genres that do notpermeate one another but are presented consecutively, in such a manner as to be cited as methods. Genres such as the classic ethnographic film pop up along with the experimental genres first person documentary, conceptual film and the fake.

The Exception and the Rule opens with images of homeless people in London, shot in the style of a news broadcast. In the context of a film about Pakistan, this references the scenes of misery typical of news reports on the Third World, which allow one to forget all too easily that blatant poverty is equally at home in the rich West.

The title ‘film is only comfortable with otherness as long as it’s not really other’ draws a line between the folkloristic Other whose existence is reduced to a pretty picture and the real Other, Islamic fundamentalism for example, that aggressively and successfully represents a completely other world order, in which not only the maker and viewer of this film would have no place but the artistic medium film itself.

Documentary images of Pakistan are merged with newspaper clippings in long double exposures, which on the one hand references script as a defining form of cultural expression in Islam and, on the other, how the media represent and thereby simultaneously inscribe a culture.

The filmmakers asked musician Nigel Colasco to describe for the camera what he could see behind the camera. Thus the image – that one initially might presume is part of a typical street interview – becomes a refraction of the medial gaze in several respects. The viewer is told about what s/he cannot see, not through the eyes of the foreigner but through those of a native – who, contrary to the original conceptual guidelines, goes beyond a mere description of what he can see and begins to interpret it.

In another sequence, the result of a workshop, artist Adeela Suleman reperforms the conceptual film 30 Sound Situations (dir. Ryszard Wasko, Poland, 1975), by banging together two wooden sticks in public space. Wasko’s ironic medial refraction (which was to take a technically superfluous part of the film as the theme of his work) here becomes a radical intervention in society: Adeela Suleman exposes herself in public, her hair loose and uncovered.

Mirza and Butler not only cite Senegalese director Ousmane Sembène’s criticism of the doyen of ethnographic film, Jean Rouch – ‘you observe us like insects’ – but also the language of the classic documentary film with its black and white, seemingly authentic images: only then to break the latter with garish, artificial-looking colour stills depicting the same motifs.

The rapid succession of images of political demonstrations appear simple to read – one is familiar with images of the angry Islamic mob – until strange signs suddenly pop up among the crowd: ‘BE.INDIAN/BUY.INDIAN/GOODS.ONLY’. The enmity of the ‘good’ democracy India towards the ‘bad’ dictatorship Pakistan informs the medial perspective on the country.

A documentary-style sequence of beautiful and rare images of Karachi is – like the classical travelogue film – accompanied by a voiceover that in this case is not translated however. The viewer is thus left alone with his lack of knowledge of Urdu and the images.

If the Museum of Non Participation is a non-museum, The Exception and the Rule is a non-documentary film. One learns as little about a foreign culture via the media as one learns about the vital artistic moment (symbolized in myth by the muses) via a museum. The film entwines images of the Other in a complex interweave of medial references and formal refractions; it insists on the moment of non-communicable experience – and thus exacts from the viewer the direct, ‘uncomfortable’ encounter with the real Other.

Karen Mirza & Brad Butler define their contribution to .move as part of the Museum of Non Participation:

‘The residency in Halle culminates in the form of a site specific performance in the Intecta building, a former department store from the early 20th century. This performance looks at both the social history of the space and the performativity of the architecture. In Halle we have sought to research and interrogate place, history and the imaginary future. As part of our collective and discursive procedural approach we take different attitudes and positions towards agency, social understanding and political action. Our process of inviting participants into the research took the form of a non hierarchical workshop framed around the concept of “reclaiming the city”. This took as a starting point our recent film, The Exception and the Rule which has been shot in Karachi, Pakistan, this year.’

 

Karen Mirza & Brad Butler, Museum of Non Participation

Explore

Curator

Überveranstaltung

Museum of Non Participation

Root Event

Werkleitz Festival 2009 .move – new european media art

Parent Event

Werkleitz Festival 2009 .move – new european media art Ausstellungsparcours
Museum of Non Participation

Respondent

Museum of Non Participation
Museum of Non Participation

Marcel Schwierin

KAREN MIRZA & BRAD BUTLER, Museum of Non Participation

Das Museum of Non Participation (was man mit „Museum der Nicht-Beteiligung“ übersetzen könnte) ist ein Projekt der anderen Orte. Dem aktuellen Konzept des Museums als abgeschlossenem, konservierenden Container der bewährten Kunst setzen Karen Mirza und Brad Butler den ursprünglichen, griechischen Begriff des Museums als dem lebendigen „Ort der Musen“ entgegen – was eine wesentlich imaginäre Qualität voraussetzt. Das Museum in der heutigen Definition ist ein Ort des Ausschlusses: Es ist nur wenigen Künstlern bzw. Kunstwerken als Plattform zugänglich und – weltweit betrachtet – auch nur wenigen Menschen als Besuchern. Die zeitgenössische Kunst bleibt von beiden Seiten außen vor: Weder sind die Museen (im Gegensatz zu den Musen) ihr wesentlich zugetan, noch das Publikum.

Karen Mirza und Brad Butler stammen aus England, einem Land, welches voller Museen ist, und diese wiederum sind voller dekontextualisierter Raubgüter. Sie reisen viel, da fast alle Stipendien für Künstler heutzutage an Orte gebunden sind – was auch auf einen Aspekt des Titels .move verweist. So kamen sie auch in Pakistans Hauptstadt Karachi, eine Stadt praktisch ohne Museen, eine Stadt mit nur geringer Präsenz zeitgenössischer Kunst. In dieser postkolonialen Situation entwarfen sie die Idee eines anderen Museums, eines Museums als Intervention, eines Museums als Ort des Dialogs.

Das Museum of Non Participation ist an keinen Ort gebunden und an kein Medium, es ist nicht festgelegt, wer Künstler und wer Betrachter ist. Der klassische Weg des westlichen Egos – hier das Künstlergenie und sein Werk, dort das Publikum, dazwischen als vermittelnde Instanz das Museum – soll zugunsten einer kollektiveren, diskursiveren Form der Partizipation aufgebrochen werden. So fanden in Karachi in Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Künstlern, Autoren und Aktivisten Workshops, Public Talks, Stadtrundgänge und Lesungen statt; die in Pakistan sehr verbreitete Kommunikation über Wandgemälde wurde aufgenommen, um das Projekt im öffentlichen Stadtraum zu installieren.

Wenn also Brad Butler und Karen Mirza gemeinsam mit dem Aktivisten Raymon Abdullah ein Wandgemälde in Karachi anbringen, das hier das Museum of Non Participation ist,[1] dann ist es dort, selbst wenn an diesem Ort weiter nichts stattfinden würde. Das Museum of Non Participation ist eine museale Behauptung. Das Paradoxon des Titels, das eigentlich den Normalfall des Museums beschreibt, in dem weder Künstler noch Publikum partizipieren, ist ironische Aufforderung und verweist auf die Irrealität des Vorhabens. Es ist eigentlich ein Non Museum.

In ihrem ebenfalls in Karachi gedrehten Film The Exception and the Rule(Pakistan/UK 2009, 37 min.), der Teil des Museums of Non Participation ist, tauchen die oben genannten Fragestellungen in ähnlicher, an den Problemen des ethnographischen Films orientierter Form wieder auf. Wie kann man einen Film über eine fremde Kultur machen und dabei den eigenen, eingeschriebenen Vorstellungen über diese entkommen? Weiterhin, wie ist es möglich, einen solchen Film zu machen und dabei auch die Perspektive derer mit einzubeziehen, die gefilmt werden? Und schließlich, welches filmische Format ist in der Lage, diese theoretischen Fragestellungen umzusetzen?

Das Ergebnis ist ein höchst eigenwilliger Hybrid aus mehreren filmischen Formen, die sich nicht gegenseitig durchdringen, sondern als Methoden zitathaft hintereinander gestellt sind. Dabei tauchen Formen des klassischen, ethnographischen Films ebenso auf wie die experimentellen des First Person Documentary,[2] des konzeptuellen Films oder des Fake.

The Exception and the Rule beginnt mit im Nachrichtenstil gedrehten Einstellungen von Obdachlosen in London und verweist im Kontext eines Films über Pakistan auf die typischen Elendsdarstellungen gerade aus der Dritten Welt, die allzu leicht vergessen lassen, dass offensichtliche Armut im reichen Westen ebenso zu Hause ist.

Die Texttafel „film is only comfortable with otherness as long as it’s not really other“ zieht die Linie zwischen dem folkloristisch Anderen, welches nur noch als hübsches Bild sein Dasein fristet und dem wirklich Anderen, wie etwa dem islamischen Fundamentalismus, der aggressiv und erfolgreich eine völlig andere Weltordnung vertritt, in der nicht nur Filmemacher und Betrachter dieses Films keinen Platz hätten, sondern auch Film als künstlerische Form selbst.

In langen Doppelbelichtungen werden dokumentarische Bilder Pakistans mit Zeitungsausschnitten verschmolzen, was einerseits Schrift als prägende kulturelle Ausdrucksform im Islam aufnimmt, andererseits auf die Einschreibung einer Kultur durch die Medien hinweist.

Die Filmemacher baten den Musiker Nigel Colasco, vor der Kamera zu beschreiben, was er hinter der Kamera sieht. So wird das Bild, welches man zunächst für ein typisches Straßeninterview halten könnte, zu einer mehrfachen Brechung des medialen Blicks: Dem Betrachter wird erzählt, was er nicht sehen kann; nicht durch die Augen der Fremden, sondern eines Einheimischen – der entgegen der ursprünglichen konzeptuellen Anweisungen über die bloße Beschreibung des Gesehenen hinausgeht und das Gesehene zu interpretieren beginnt.

In einer anderen Sequenz reperformt die Künstlerin Adeela Suleman als Ergebnis eines Workshops den konzeptuellen Film 30 Sound Situations [3] von Ryszard Wasko aus dem Jahre 1975, indem sie an öffentlichen Orten zwei Holzscheite vor der Kamera zusammenschlägt. Die medial-ironische Brechung Waskos (der damit die Film-Klappe, also den technisch-überflüssigen Teil des Filmes zum Thema seines Werkes machte) wird hier zur radikalen gesellschaftlichen Intervention: Adeela Suleman exponiert sich in der Öffentlichkeit ohne Kopfbedeckung und mit offenem Haar.

Mirza and Butler zitieren nicht nur den senegalesischen Filmemacher Ousmane Sembène mit seiner Kritik am Altmeister des ethnographischen Films, Jean Rouch – „you observe us like insects“[4] –, sie zitieren auch die Sprache des klassischen Dokumentarfilms, die schwarzweißen, authentisch wirkenden Aufnahmen, um sie dann mit grellen, künstlich wirkenden Farbstills des gleichen Motivs zu brechen.

Einfach zu dechiffrieren scheinen die schnell montierten Bilder von politischen Demonstrationen – man kennt die Bilder des wütenden, islamischen Mobs –, bis seltsame Schilder aus der Masse aufragen: „BE.INDIAN/BUY.INDIAN/GOODS.ONLY“. Die Feindschaft der ,guten‘ Demokratie Indien zur ,schlechten‘ Diktatur Pakistan prägt den medialen Blick auf das Land.

Eine dokumentarisch beobachtende Sequenz mit schönen und seltsamen Bildern Karachis wird, wie im klassischen Reisefilm, mit einem Voiceover verknüpft, nur dass dieses nicht übersetzt wird. So bleibt der Betrachter mit seinen nicht vorhandenen Urdu-Kenntnissen[5] und den Bildern allein.

Wenn das Museum of Non Partizipation ein Nicht-Museum ist, so ist The Exception and the Rule ein Nicht-Dokumentarfilm. So wenig man über das lebendige Moment der Kunst (mythisch repräsentiert durch die Musen) in einem Museum erfährt, so wenig erfährt man über eine fremde Kultur durch die Medien. Der Film verwebt die Bilder des Anderen in ein komplexes Geflecht aus medialen Zitaten und formalen Brechungen; er beharrt auf dem Moment unvermittelbarer Erfahrung – und fordert somit vom Betrachter die direkte, die ,unkomfortable‘ Begegnung mit dem wirklich Anderen ein.

Karen Mirza und Brad Butler definieren ihr Projekt als Teil des Museum of Non Participation:

„Unser Aufenthalt in Halle gipfelt in einer ortsbezogenen Performance im Intecta-Gebäude, einem ehemaligen Kaufhaus aus dem frühen 20. Jahrhundert. Diese Performance setzt sich sowohl mit der Sozialgeschichte des Orts als auch mit der Performativität der Architektur auseinander. In Halle haben wir den Ort, seine Geschichte und imaginäre Zukunft erforscht und hinterfragt. Als Teil unseres kollektiven, diskursiven und prozessorientierten Ansatzes nehmen wir verschiedene Haltungen und Positionen zu Vermittlung, gesellschaftlichen Begriffen und politischen Handlungen ein. In diesem prozesshaften Rahmen luden wir Teilnehmer zur Beteiligung an den Recherchen in Form eines nicht-hierarchischen Workshops ein. Er drehte sich um die „Wiederaneignung der Stadt“, und wir nahmen unseren aktuellen Film The Exception and the Rule, der in diesem Jahr in Karachi/Pakistan entstand, als Ausgangspunkt.“

[1] Abbildung im Farbteil des Kataloges

[2] Filme aus der persönlichen Erzählperspektive der Filmemacher, seit den 1990ern ein zentrales Genre des experimentellen Films.

[3] Originaltitel: 30 sytuacji dźwiekowych

[4] In einer Debatte mit Rouch 1965. Wobei zu dessen Ehrenrettung hier angemerkt sei, dass er seine Landsleute ebenso ethnographisch-wissenschaftlich gefilmt hat wie ihm fremde Völker.

[5] Urdu-Sprachkurse wiederum sind Teil des Gesamtkonzeptes des Museum of Non Participation.

Karen Mirza & Brad Butler, Museum of Non Participation

Explore

Kurator

Überveranstaltung