MSE 500

Root Event

4. Werkleitz Biennale real[work]
MSE 500
DE 2000
MSE 500
© Thomas Bruns
MSE 500
© Thomas Bruns
MSE 500
© Thomas Bruns
MSE 500
© Thomas Bruns
MSE 500
© Thomas Bruns
MSE 500
© Thomas Bruns
MSE 500
© Thomas Bruns

Buildings, their facades and ground-plans, give evidence on how people live, work and organise their everyday lives. The materials used are similarly informative on the condition of a society and its priorities. In accordance with that, Franka Hornschemeyer processes raw building and construction materials, such as gypsum boards and monocoque/stressed skin construction elements, that is, materials which had come into use as standard units to meet the require- ments of a speedy, rational construction procedure during the 2nd half of the 20th century.

The project MSE 500 in its construction was informed by ground plans, measurements and data from the KONSUM-building, currently housing the office Werkleitz Gesellschaft and its various phases of being readapted to different functions. The building’s past as the barn of a farm can only be detected in documents and in the segments of partially bared brick work. During the seventies it was converted into a school by volunteer workers, who laboured for two years on this project, after their official working hours (“Feierabendarbeit”). Due to decreasing birth rates, the school was closed again in the eighties, and the building was then used as a kindergarden, until this, too, became impossible due to lacking funds. The following years saw the use of the building as a greengrocer and, finally, as a Konsum-supermarket. After the Konsum was closed in 1995, the Werkleitz Gesellschaft moved in in 1996.

The question of which societal situation is tied to a particular use of a building and alongside with that, specific ways of working was made physically perceptible in this project. The work translated the complexity of the building’s former structures and uses into an abstract confi- guration and re-erected it as a temporary acces- sible labyrinthine architecture outside of the building.

An interview with the former school’s teacher, Renate Koch, and the last private owner of the building, Regina Schréder, laid a foundation for the conception of the work. A condensed version of the interview was published in the ‘Manual’, a publication which accompanied the Biennale.

Autor des Textes

Corinna Koch & Christiane Mennicke-Schwarz

Franka Hörnschemeyer (D), MSE 500, 2000

Explore

Überveranstaltung

MSE 500

Root Event

4. Werkleitz Biennale real[work]
MSE 500
DE 2000
MSE 500
© Thomas Bruns
MSE 500
© Thomas Bruns
MSE 500
© Thomas Bruns
MSE 500
© Thomas Bruns
MSE 500
© Thomas Bruns
MSE 500
© Thomas Bruns
MSE 500
© Thomas Bruns

Gebäude, ihre Fassaden und Grundrisse, zeigen wie Menschen leben, arbeiten und sich im Alltag organisieren. Auch die in den Bauten verarbeiteten Materialien geben Auskunft über die Befindlichkeit einer Gesellschaft und ihre Prioritäten. Franka Hörnschemeyer verarbeitet aufgrund dieser Erkenntnis seit Beginn ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit rohe Bau- und Konstruktionsmaterialien wie Gipskartonplatten und Schal-Elemente, das heißt Materialen, die in der 2. Hälfte des 20 Jahrhunderts als Norm-Einheiten für die Bedürfnisse schneller, rationeller Bauweisen entwickelt wurden.

Die Arbeit MSE 500 griff in ihrer Konstruktion Grundrisse und Maßangaben und Daten aus verschiedenen Nutzungsphasen des Konsumgebäudes, des heutigen Sitzes der Werkleitz Gesellschaft auf. Das Gebäude, dessen Vergangenheit als Scheune eines landwirtschaftlichem Betriebs im 19. Jahrhundert nur noch aus Dokumenten und anhand des partiell freiliegenden Mauerwerks zu erahnen ist, wurde in den 70er Jahren in zweijähtiger Feierabendarbeit zur Schule umgebaut. Die Schule, die aufgrund zurückgehender Geburtenzahlen bereits 1980 geschlossen werden musste, wurde später zur Unterbringung des Kindergartens genutzt, bis die Aufrechterhaltung eines eigenen Kindergartens im Dorf nach der Wende aufgrund gekürzter Mittel nicht länger möglich war. Eine Nutzung als Gemüsehandel und darauffolgend als Konsum schloß sich an. Nach der Schliessung des Konsums 1995 zog 1996 die Werkleitz Gesellschaft in das Gebäude ein.

Die Frage, welche gesellschaftliche Situation sich mit welcher Nutzung von Gebäuden und damit auch welchen Arbeitsformen verbindet, kam in der entstandenen Arbeit auf körperlich wahrnehmbare Weise zur Sprache. Die Arbeit versetzte die Komplexität vergangener Strukturen und Nutzungen des Gebäudes in abstrakter Form und stellte sie als begehbare labyrinthische temporäre Architektur in den Außenraum.

Ein Gespräch mit der ehemaligen Lehrerin der Schule, Renate Koch, und der ursprünglichen Besitzerin des Gebäudes, Regina Schröder, war eine wesentliche Grundlage für die Konzeption der Arbeit. Eine gekürzte Fassung des Gesprächs war im ‚Manual‘, der begleitend zur Biennale erschienen Publikation, abgedruckt.

Autor des Textes

Corinna Koch & Christiane Mennicke-Schwarz

Franka Hörnschemeyer (D), MSE 500, 2000

Explore

Überveranstaltung