moving spirits

moving spirits
7. 5. to 3. 6. 2006

künstlerische Leitung:

moving spirits
moving spirits
moving spirits
moving spirits
moving spirits
moving spirits

The media art exhibition moving spirits came into existence in the context of the 300 anniversary celebration of the Danish-Halle-Mission in South India at the Francke Foundation in Halle (Saale) Germany.

The mutual influence of spiritual ideas between India and Germany is the leitmotiv for the commissioned artworks and the art grants and also the starting point all nine videos and installations have in common. Yet, the artworks are produced entirely independent from one another. Interestingly, nearly none of the participating artists have explored the theme along the lines of traditional world religions, like Hinduism and Christianity. On the contrary, in their works, the artists explore the labyrinth of individual and also new belief systems. They focus on biography, self experiment and anthropological, etymological and cultural research. The results of these investigations are presented in the exhibition.

Five commissioned works from Indian and German artists are presented as videos and installations: In her interactive video installation untitled, Shilpa Gupta invites the viewer to engage with a spiritual reflection similar to Plato’s Cave Allegory. In Ka, Amit Dutt explores the influence of spiritual texts on his visual imagination. Merle Kröger and Philip Scheffner’s video installation India in Mind looks at various projections of India that can be found in Germany. With Shanti Plus Dorothee Wenner and Urmi Juvekar attempt to find out what Indians in a small village on the coast of Goa really think about hippies, while Peter Zorn embarks on a self experiment with A Spiritual Journey through South India.

In addition, four individual research residencies in India and in Germany are supported with art grants. The grantholders are invited to present these projects at the Francke Foundation as either realised works or proposals for still evolving processes. Sonia Khurana’s project five visits which is being carried out in the present moment explores the nature of a near-spiritual experience that was initiated five years ago through her chance encounter with a taxi driver in Berlin. The multimedia collective Desire Machine (Sonal Jain and Mriganka Madhukaillya) discovers in Aliyah one of the lost tribes of Israel, the Bnei Menashe, living at the borderland between India and Myanmar (Burma); Beate Terfloth asks performers in Remembering Schlegel: a visual Hindi-German Dictionary to enact with sign language words that have a common Indo-Germanic root and Florian Zeyfang investigates the community of believers (denomination) of the Indian alternative film scene in Spirit.

The Francke Foundation and the Werkleitz Gesellschaft want to express their gratitude to all those who helped to realise moving spirits. First of all our supporting partners Khoj Studios in New Delhi, in particular to Pooja Sood, as well as to the Hochschule für Kunst und Gestaltung Burg Giebichenstein in Halle (MultiMedia VR Conception) and to our sponsors: The Federal Culture Foundation, the State of Saxony-Anhalt, Lotto-Toto GmbH Saxony-Anhalt, the Institute for Foreign Affairs (IFA) and the company punkt.um Film in Magdeburg.

Publikation

Ausstellung moving spirits 2006

With texts by
Amit Dutta, Shilpa Gupta, Sonia Khurana, Philip Scheffner, Florian Zeyfang a. o.

1,– €

Explore

moving spirits

moving spirits
7. 5. bis 3. 6. 2006

künstlerische Leitung:

moving spirits
moving spirits
moving spirits
moving spirits
moving spirits
moving spirits

Die Medienkunst-Ausstellung moving spirits entstand im Kontext des 300-jährigen Jubiläums der Dänisch-Halleschen Mission in Südindien, das die Franckeschen Stiftungen zu Halle in diesem Jahr begehen.

Die Auseinandersetzung über den wechselseitigen Einfluss spiritueller Ideen zwischen Indien und Deutschland verbindet leitmotivisch die Auftrags- und Stipendienarbeiten des Projektes, quasi als gemeinsamer Ausgangspunkt für die ansonsten voneinander unabhängig entstandenen neun Videos und Installationen. Interessanterweise haben sich die Künstler/innen für moving spirits fast alle auf Exkursionen abseits der Pfade der traditionellen Weltreligionen Hinduismus und Christentum begeben. Stattdessen erforschen sie in ihren Arbeiten die Labyrinthe individueller oder auch neuerer Glaubensvorstellungen. Es geht um Biographien, Selbstexperimente sowie ethnologische, etymologische und kulturelle Spurensuche.

Fünf Auftragsarbeiten von indischen und deutschen KünstlerInnen sind als Videos und Installationen zu sehen: Shilpa Gupta bezieht die Betrachter in ihrer interaktiven Videoinstallation ohne Titel wie die Schatten aus Platons berühmtem Höhlengleichnis in eine spirituelle Reflexion ein. Amit Dutta untersucht in seinem Video Ka den Impetus spiritueller Texte auf seine visuelle Imagination. Merle Kröger und Philip Scheffner verfolgen in ihrem Video India in Mind unterschiedliche Projektionen auf Indien, denen man in Deutschland begegnen kann; Dorothee Wenner und Urmi Juvekar unternehmen in Shanti Plus den Versuch, in einem kleinen Dorf in Goa herauszufinden, was Inder über Hippies denken und Peter Zorn unternimmt quasi im Selbstversuch A Spiritual Journey durch Südindien.

Vier weitere Arbeiten entstehen im Rahmen von Recherche-Stipendien in Indien sowie in Halle und Berlin und werden in den Franckeschen Stiftungen zu Halle als Work-in-Progress präsentiert: Sonia Khurana untersucht während ihres Aufenthaltes in Five Visits die Natur eines beinahe spirituellen Erlebnisses während einer Begegnung mit einem Taxifahrer in Berlin; das Multimedia Kollektiv Desire Machine (Sonal Jain und Mriganka Madhukaillya) findet in Aliyah den verlorenen Stamm Israels Bnei Menashe im Grenzgebiet zwischen Indien und Myanmar (Burma); Beate Terfloth bittet in Delhi darstellende Künstler in Erinnerung an Schlegel: ein visuelles hindi-deutsches Wörterbuch, Begriffe des gemeinsamen indogermanischen Sprachstamms, pantomimisch darzustellen und Florian Zeyfang untersucht in Spirit die Aspekte des Austausches zwischen der indischen und der internationalen Experimentalfilmszene.

Die Franckeschen Stiftungen zu Halle und die Werkleitz Gesellschaft bedanken sich bei allen, die geholfen haben moving spirits zu realisieren, insbesondere unserem indischen Partner, den Khoj Studios in Neu-Delhi, vor allem Pooja Sood; Des Weiteren der Hochschule für Kunst und Gestaltung Burg Giebichenstein in Halle (Bereich MultiMedia VR Konzeption) sowie unseren Förderern und Sponsoren: der Kulturstiftung des Bundes, dem Land Sachsen-Anhalt, der Lotto-Toto GmbH Sachsen-Anhalt, dem Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen und der Firma punkt.um Film in Magdeburg.

Publikation

Ausstellung moving spirits 2006

Mit Texten von
Amit Dutta, Shilpa Gupta, Sonia Khurana, Philip Scheffner, Florian Zeyfang u. a.

1,– €

Explore