in the city of sofia

Root Event

Werkleitz Festival 2009 .move – new european media art

Parent Event

Werkleitz Festival 2009 .move – new european media art Ausstellungsparcours
in the city of sofia

Respondent

In the city of Sofia
In the city of Sofia

Shu Lea Cheang doesn’t particularly like to fly. Nonetheless she does so, not out of any flippant anti-environmentalism but out of the awkward necessity binding legions of contemporary cosmopolites, most often unaware and uninterested in the time zones they happen to be jetting back and forth through. As an artist and digital activist she’s often locked down on simultaneous projects taking place across multiple continents, acting at times as a barely visible catalyst of creative enterprise. Yet these projects, and her artistic ‘raison d’ètre’ are about keeping low, hugging the ground, creating multiple rhizomatic connections between individuals – who then form and re-group, carrying and further developing the artistic strategies Shu Lea sets into motion. She needs to travel both the tactile and the digital terrain, constantly poking and bumping potential interlocutors and resources along the way. Time, location and the experience of being witness to events fuse in Shu Lea’s practice, linking her projects in a constantly evolving and borderless narrative. As such, her work both involves and invokes a stealth-like necessity to operate on a strict ‘need-to-know’ basis, a modus operandi reflected in the ‘immaterial’ materiality of the code-based, PD-patched, whispered systemics lurking at the fringes of her telecommunications based artistic practice. Known for complex and participative ‘open’ art works, which engage different forms of urbanism and a broad spectrum of ‘user’ groups, Shu Lea’s projects link issues of technological emancipation with the strengthening of the freedoms of expression, movement and civic rights.

Inherently unstable and free of a preconceived narrative, Shu Lea Cheang’s works rely on a choreography of skills, notions and intuitions which seem unpredictable, each of which crafts a specific message. Whether this meant spinning ‘the social media mission into hypermedia playing fields’ by declaring gm-free garlic as the new social currency of the future in her project Garlic=Rich Air or assembling a network of free culture projects into a Kingdom of Piracy (KOP) Shu Lea’s mission is the unhindered sharing of ideas, creative expression and content through networked and mobile technologies. Recalling Yves Klein’s action for the exchange of immaterial sensibilities in which the artist sold empty space, voids, for a piece of gold, Shu Lea’s work implies a re-evaluation of economic and political systems. Her value system operates in a larger context of global open systems, where the exchange of virtual spaces and mechanisms are traded in the form of speculative acts, which in turn are recycled into new forms of creative capital.

As such, in Shu Lea’s practice, the act of artistic expression has an overt political connotation, even where a piece itself is not political or equipped with a specific political agenda per se. This trajectory unfolds as a complex artistic social experiment in which the form of expression is not pinned to any specific medium. Working initially with film and video Shu Lea now focuses on live coding and viral escapades. It is at this juncture where she opted to travel by land, from Western Europe to the mythically ‘Deep East’, to Sofia, Bulgaria. Recounting her experience in Beijing during the same period as Eastern Europe’s season of revolution, Shu Lea launched a project to trace her own journey back to 1989 through one of the first and most significant global computer viral epidemics. Whether at Tiananmen Square, or across the former Eastern Block in Europe, 1989 was a year of suspense and systemic ‘trial and error’ where the results of uprisings and discontent also gave birth to new windows of creative opportunity with entirely unclear and unprecedented consequences. Formerly closed societies had entered a state of limbo between tense yet historically mundane order and extreme social and personal risk. Not only were the messages of revolution through better telecommunications technologies seeping out of their traditionally protected national enclosures, but so were the movements of economies, information and data marking the first triumphs of computer based peer to peer networking and knowledge sharing.

Piggybacking on this cacophony of disorder, EDDIE emerged through the major re-tooling of social-political landscapes. Bulgaria, deep within the ‘East Block’s’ cloak and dagger world of intrigue had already cloned a series of Apple computers. The Pravetz 8, named after Bulgarian leader Todor Zhivkov’s hometown where Bulgaria’s first PCs were being developed, induced one of the Blocks most tactically adept forces of software engineers, whose expertise in mathematics and algorithmic architectures was tapped far beyond the necessities of COMECON directives. There is speculation whether EDDIE, ostensibly written and distributed by an entity known as the Dark Avenger, was a product of this tech-fervor as a message to the nascent world of network computing or was planted and re-channeled through dirty code in order to disrupt the Bulgarian computer industry’s reverse engineering effort. Whichever the case, Dark Avenger left its/his/her signature within the EDDIE virus: ‘This program was written in the city of Sofia (C) 1988-89 Dark Avenger’. The act itself, perhaps more so than the author, whose identity has yet to be ascertained, became synonymous with, if not the metaphor of the irreverent underbelly of the political protests that had spread across Eastern Europe at the time. The Bulgarian regime collapsed, and with it EDDIE had entered the United States (illegally?), boosting the reputation of Bulgaria as a dangerous nation aggressively exporting the means for covert economic and political disruption, even in the wake of Communism’s demise.

Today, as we witness the foundations of the world’s economies shaking, we begin to see minor bursts of praise for the role hactivist practice has played in keeping government ineptitude, corporate lobbying and economic espionage at bay by making the public aware of the delicate intricacies and powerful mechanisms controlling the flow of information, data and identities. It is at this juncture, along the road to Sofia that Shu Lea picks up the Dark Avenger’s trace, tracking down the elusive force behind the Cold War’s legendary software insurgent. In the city of Sofia ©1989-2009, fleshed out in present day Sofia as a fictitious viral encounter between Dark Avenger and a female Bulgarian journalist named EK, plays EDDIE off against the revolutionary Bulgaria of 1989 versus the European Union Bulgaria of 2009. In so doing, Shu Lea Cheang’s work opens up another stunning door to Eastern and Central Europe’s pivotal spot in media culture’s turbulent history of net art and poetically viral hactivism.

‘Eddie lives … somewhere in time. I don’t want to go to school. No more pigs. Takeme memory.’

in the city of sofia, ©1989-2009

Explore

Curator

Überveranstaltung

in the city of sofia

Root Event

Werkleitz Festival 2009 .move – new european media art

Parent Event

Werkleitz Festival 2009 .move – new european media art Ausstellungsparcours
in the city of sofia

Respondent

In the city of Sofia
In the city of Sofia

SHU LEA CHEANG, in the city of Sofia ©1989-2009

Shu Lea Cheang fliegt nicht gern. Trotzdem nutzt sie das Flugzeug häufig, nicht aufgrund irgendeiner oberflächlichen Anti-Öko-Haltung, sondern aus der unangenehmen Notwendigkeit heraus, die Legionen von zeitgenössischen Kosmopoliten verbindet, meist desinteressiert an den Zeitzonen, die sie zufälligerweise in irgendeine Richtung durchqueren. Als Künstlerin und digitale Aktivistin ist sie häufig an unterschiedlichste, über mehrere Kontinente verstreute Projekte gebunden. Zeitweise agiert sie als kaum sichtbarer Katalysator kreativer Prozesse. In diesen Projekten und in ihrer künstlerischen Raison d’Être geht es um Zurückhaltung, Bodenhaftung und das Herstellen vielfältiger rhizomatischer Verbindungen zwischen Individuen, die sich dann für die Unterstützung und Weiterentwicklung der durch Shu Lea in Gang gesetzten künstlerischen Strategien zusammenfinden. Sie bereist sowohl reales als auch virtuelles Terrain, wobei sie unterwegs ständig potenzielle Gesprächspartner und Ressourcen aufstöbert. Zeit, Ort und die Erfahrungen aus früheren Ereignissen verschmelzen in Shu Leas künstlerischer Praxis ineinander, wodurch ihre Projekte zu einer ständig wachsenden Erzählung verknüpft werden. Ihre Arbeitsweise fördert und erfordert per se die diskrete Notwendigkeit, sich für jedes Projekt nur das unabdingbare Wissen anzueignen – ein Modus Operandi, der seinen Widerhall in der „Immaterialität“ code-basierter, aus PD-Patches bestehender Insider-Systeme findet, die in den Randgebieten ihrer Telekommunikationskunst lauern. In ihren komplexen und partizipativen, „offenen“ Kunstwerken gelingt es Shu Lea, Aspekte technologischer Emanzipation mit der Stärkung von Bürgerrechten, Meinungs- und Bewegungsfreiheit zu verbinden. Sie integriert in ihre Projekte neue Formen des Urbanismus und bezieht verschiedenste „Nutzer“-Gruppen ein.

Von Natur aus instabil und frei von einem vorgefassten Narrativ, sind Shu Lea Cheangs Arbeiten auf eine scheinbar unvorhersehbare Choreografie aus Fähigkeiten, Ideen und Intuition angewiesen, wobei jedes dieser Elemente eine spezifische Botschaft vermittelt. Ob das nun bedeutet, „soziale Medien in ein Hypermedien-Experimentierfeld“ zu verwandeln, indem in ihrem Projekt Garlic=Rich Air gentechnisch unveränderter Knoblauch als soziale Währung der Zukunft deklariert wird, oder ob sie ein Netzwerk freier Kulturprojekte als Königreich der Piraterie (KOP) initiiert – in Shu Leas Mission geht es um den unbehinderten Austausch von Ideen, Kreativität und Daten mittels vernetzter und mobiler Technologien. Vergleicht man Shu Leas Praxis mit Yves Kleins Aktion zum Tausch immaterieller Sensibilitäten, in deren Rahmen er leeren Raum, also Leere, gegen Gold tauschte, wird deutlich, dass ihre Arbeit eine Re-Evaluation ökonomischer und politischer Systeme impliziert. Ihr Wertesystem ist in den größeren Zusammenhang globaler, offener Systeme eingebunden, in denen der Tausch virtueller Räume und Gesellschaftsmechanismen in Form spekulativer Akte stattfindet, die wiederum in neue Formen kreativen Kapitals recycelt werden.

Der künstlerische Ausdruck hat in Shu Leas Praxis somit eine offenkundige politische Bedeutung, selbst wenn eine Arbeit nicht direkt politisch ist oder mit einer spezifischen politischen Agenda ausgestattet ist. Ihr künstlerischer Weg entfaltet sich als ein komplexes Experiment, in dem die Ausdrucksform unabhängig von einem spezifischen Medium ist. Nachdem sie ursprünglich mit Film arbeitete, konzentriert sich Shu Lea inzwischen auf Live-Coding und virale Eskapaden. Diesmal hat sie sich für eine Reise über Land entschieden, von Westeuropa in den mythischen „tiefen Osten“, nach Sofia, Bulgarien. Angesichts ihrer Erinnerungen an den Aufenthalt in Peking, der zeitlich parallel zu den Osteuropäischen Revolutionen lag, startete Shu Lea ein Projekt, das ihre eigene Entwicklung bis ins Jahr 1989 zurückverfolgt – dasselbe Jahr, in dem es zum ersten globalen Ausbruch eines Computervirus kam. Ob Tiananmen oder ehemaliger Ostblock – 1989 war ein Jahr der Schwebe und des systemischen Ausprobierens. In Folge der Aufstände und der Unmutsäußerungen entstanden neue kreative Freiräume mit in Gänze unüberschaubaren und beispiellosen Folgen. Gesellschaften, die bis dahin nach außen abgeschottet waren, mussten einen Schwebezustand zwischen angespannten, jedoch historisch gewachsenen Ordnungen und extremen sozialen und persönlichen Risiken aushalten. Revolutionsnachrichten überwanden mittels verbesserter Telekommunikationstechnologien die traditionell gesicherten Nationalgrenzen, und ebenso markierten die Geld- und Waren-, Informations- und Datenströme erste Triumphe von elektronischer Peer-to-Peer-Kommunikation und Wissenstausch.

Im Zuge dieser Kakophonie des Durcheinanders tauchte EDDIE auf, inmitten der Neuordnung gesellschaftspolitischer Landschaften. Bulgarien, tief in der Spionagewelt des „Ostblocks“ verwurzelt, hatte bereits mehrere Apple Computer geklont. Benannt nach der Heimatstadt des bulgarischen Staatschefs Todor Živkov, in der die ersten PCs in Bulgarien entwickelt wurden, war die Computerproduktion des Pravez-8 Brutstätte für eine der taktisch geschicktesten Truppen von Softwareprogrammierern des Ostblocks, deren Kenntnisse der Mathematik und algorithmischer Architekturen weit über die Notwendigkeiten der RGW-Richtlinien hinaus angezapft wurden. Es wird spekuliert, ob EDDIE, angeblich programmiert und verbreitet von einer (dunklen) Macht unter dem Decknamen Dark Avenger, ein Ergebnis dieser Technikaffinität ist als eine Nachricht an die im Entstehen begriffene Welt der Netzwerke oder ob er durch verseuchten Programmiercode lanciert wurde, um das industrielle Reverse-Engineering der Bulgaren zu stören. Wie auch immer – Dark Avenger hinterließ seine Signatur im EDDIE-Virus: „Diese Software wurde in der Stadt Sofia geschrieben (C) 1988-89 Dark Avenger.“ Vielleicht mehr noch als sein Autor, dessen Identität nach wie vor ungeklärt ist, wurde dieser Akt selbst ein Synonym, wenn nicht sogar Metapher für die Schattenseite der politischen Proteste, die sich damals in Osteuropa ausbreiteten. Das bulgarische Regime brach zusammen, und gleichzeitig war EDDIE (illegal?) in die Vereinigten Staaten eingereist und stärkte den Ruf Bulgariens als eine gefährliche Nation, die selbst noch im Niedergang des Kommunismus aggressiv die Mittel für verdeckte ökonomische und politische Störmanöver lieferte.

Heute erleben wir das globale Wanken der Volkswirtschaften und angesichts dessen steigt – wenn auch in kleinem Rahmen – die Anerkennung für die Kontrollfunktion, die Hacker-Aktivisten angesichts von Regierungsunfähigkeit, Wirtschaftslobbyismus und -spionage übernommen haben. Sie machen die Öffentlichkeit auf die heiklen Details und Machtmechanismen aufmerksam, denen der Fluss von Informationen, Daten und Identitäten unterliegt. Es ist sicher kein Zufall, dass Shu Lea auf dem Weg nach Sofia die Spur Dark Avengers genau zu diesem Zeitpunkt aufgenommen hat, auf der Suche nach der schwer zu fassenden Gestalt, die hinter dem legendären Software-Rebellen des Kalten Krieges steht. In dem Szenario In the city of Sofia ©1989-2009, das im heutigen Sofia als ein fiktives Treffen zwischen Dark Avenger und der bulgarischen Journalistin EK inszeniert wird, tritt EDDIE zum entscheidenden Spiel zwischen dem revolutionären Bulgarien von 1989 und dem Bulgarien der Europäischen Union des Jahres 2009 an. Damit nimmt sich Shu Lea Cheang einer weiteren fantastischen Situation an, in der Ost- und Zentraleuropa eine Schlüsselposition in der turbulenten Geschichte der Medienkulturen innehaben – insbesondere von Netzkunst und poetisch-viralem Hacker-Aktivismus.

„Eddie lives … somewhere in time. I don’t want to go to school. No more pigs. Takeme memory.“

in the city of sofia, ©1989-2009

Explore

Kurator

Überveranstaltung