Sebastian Schmieg

Root Event

Werkleitz Festival 2018 Holen und Bringen

Parent Event

Holen und Bringen Ausstellung
Gallery.Delivery
DE 2018
Sebastian Schmieg, Gallery.Delivery, 2018
Installationansicht © Foto Falk Wenzel
Sebastian Schmieg, Gallery.Delivery, 2018
Installationansicht © Foto Falk Wenzel

The Berlin-based artist Sebastian Schmieg demonstrates the hidden social potential of logistics. To do so he founded the service Gallery.Delivery in September 2018 – a delivery operation that makes art available at all times and all places. A white cube – a delivery box for bicycle couriers – contains works by such artists as Aram Bartholl, Nadja Buttendorf, Jonas Lund, !Mediengruppe Bitnik and Peggy Pehl. When an order is placed a courier will come and present the contents of the white package for two hours before leaving again with the box.

With this concept Gallery.Delivery questions the non-stop availability of art both online and offline, while at the same time staging logistic possibilities as part of a social ritual. In a second phase of the project the various exhibition openings will be documented in a vertical format film. Here the reception and multiplication of the works will become visible in the social media and the continual expansion of the artistic space be rendered evident. In this way logistics is made yet again to enter private and urban living spaces, turning the complex algorithms of digital ordering processes into a social event.

Webseite

Gallery.Delivery, 2018
social media screencast, Foodora-box with works by !Mediengruppe Bitnik & Low Jack, Andy Kassier, Aram Bartholl, Bastiaan de Nennie, Banz & Bowinkel, Grażyna Roguski, Jonas Lund, Milena Milosavljevic, Nadja Buttendorf, Olia Lialina, Peggy Pehl, Shawn Maximo, Silvio Lorusso
project realized with Roehrs & Boetsch

Explore

Überveranstaltung

Sebastian Schmieg

Root Event

Werkleitz Festival 2018 Holen und Bringen

Parent Event

Werkleitz Festival 2018 Holen und Bringen Ausstellung
Gallery.Delivery
DE 2018
Sebastian Schmieg, Gallery.Delivery, 2018
Installationansicht © Foto Falk Wenzel
Sebastian Schmieg, Gallery.Delivery, 2018
Installationansicht © Foto Falk Wenzel

Der Berliner Künstler Sebastian Schmieg zeigt, welches soziale Potential in Logistik verborgen ist. Dafür gründete er im September 2018 den Dienst Gallery.Delivery, einen Lieferservice für Kunst, die zu jeder Zeit und an jedem Ort verfügbar sein soll. In einem weißen Würfel, einer Lieferbox für Fahrradkuriere, befinden sich unter anderem Arbeiten von Aram Bartholl, Nadja Buttendorf, Jonas Lund, !Mediengruppe Bitnik und Peggy Pehl. Auf Bestellung kommt ein Kurier und präsentiert für zwei Stunden den Inhalt des weißen Pakets, welcher anschließend wieder mitgenommen wird. 

Gallery.Delivery hinterfragt mit diesem Modell die ständige Verfügbarkeit von Kunst, on- und offline, und inszeniert gleichzeitig logistische Möglichkeiten als Teil eines sozialen Rituals. Die verschiedenen Ausstellungseröffnungen werden in einem zweiten Teil, einem hochformatigen Film, dokumentiert. Hier wird die Rezeption und Multiplikation der Arbeit in den sozialen Netzwerken sichtbar und die stetige Erweiterung des Kunstraums deutlich. Logistik tritt somit einmal mehr in den privaten und urbanen Lebensraum ein und führt von den komplexen Algorithmen der digitalen Bestellvorgänge zum sozialen Ereignis. 

Webseite

Gallery.Delivery, 2018
Social-Media-Screencast, Foodora-Kiste mit Arbeiten von !Mediengruppe Bitnik & Low Jack, Andy Kassier, Aram Bartholl, Bastiaan de Nennie, Banz & Bowinkel, Grażyna Roguski, Jonas Lund, Milena Milosavljevic, Nadja Buttendorf, Olia Lialina, Peggy Pehl, Shawn Maximo, Silvio Lorusso
Projekt innitiiert zusammen mit Roehrs & Boetsch

Explore

Überveranstaltung