Common Property Party / DJs

Root Event

6. Werkleitz Biennale Common Property / Allgemeingut
Common Property Party / DJs
1. 9. to 5. 9. 2004

BIGBORK & BEATNIK (2turn / Halle) feat. MC Amon (Cuba Crew / Leipzig)

The fusion of different styles of club music can indeed be regarded as the home base of DJs Bigbork & Beatnik from Halle. For close to five years, the two residents of ‹clubzone› mixed the monthly ration of progressive radio ear-food on MDR Sputnik. Their fondness of extraordinary tracks characterises their unique style that combines jazz, soul, funk, downtempo, breakbeats, drum’n’bass, and house beats, and has become the trade mark of popular club nights such as ‹OPERA›. Recently, MC ‹No.1› Amon has been supporting them on the mike to invigorate the crowd.

  • Tanzklub, 01.09.2004, 20:00

DJ GROUP.THEORY

VG WORT
attn. Mrs Gehrt
Goethestr. 49
D-80336 Munich
Ref: card file no. 9860701

Dear Mrs Gehrt,
I hereby send you an ‹Individual Science Registration› along with the request to take it into account for the distribution of royalties for publications in 2005. I also ask you to please send me additional standard forms, the green forms for the ‹Special Distribution of Library Royalties›, and an information leaflet (Registration Guidelines) on this special distribution.
I hope the information I have given is sufficient and thank you for your efforts.

Sincerely, group.theory@gmx.de

group theory started as a symbolic political experiment and is today an apron for texts, parties, art projects, games, and signatures. This announced itself for the first time in the exhibition “missing fields” (Kunsthalle Fridericianum, Kassel) of the ‘Museum Werdender Kunst’

  • Tanzklub, 02.09.2004, 22:00

COVER BATTLE QUIZ

Aguirre and Ersatz stage turntables battles over the craziest cover versions. And everyone has the chance of winning the evening’s repertoire. Who knows the original versions? If all bets are correct, the winners get to take the freshly burnt CD home.

  • Tanzklub, 02.09.2004, 24:00

DJ ERSATZ

DJ Ersatz first performed from inside a wall cupboard, found a companion there, and thereafter toured the ether, different surestreams and semi-clubs as ‹trax tv.›, a collaboration which got lost somehow on its way to marginal fame and from that point on was only seen occasionally, using different ersatz names then. Still, as yesteryear, some house should work out quite right for these early morning hours.

  • Tanzklub, 03.09.2004, 2:00

CHAISELONGUE

“The nicest things in life are the breaks. This was already true at school, and later – please come along to the present. The club Chaiselounge originated from the desire to find something of one’s own in cultural nightlife, as a place of possibilities. And as a temporary zone that is energised by the play of perception and the participants’ wish to get involved. Installations with more or less technology in an interplay with bass and light, and a choice programme in a 14-day rhythm. This is how the venue functions -authentically, in an attempt to combine what the definition of exhibition and party entails. That’s club culture.” During the festival days ‹Common Chaiselongue› will run a bar and a club on the first floor of the Volkspark. DJs of the Chaiselongue programme are among others: construct, tadpole, zapotek, discounke

  • common chaiselongue, 03.09.2004, 22:00

MARLOW FEAT. KAROLINE KÖRBEL

Recently Leipzig based DJ and producer Marlow initiated a new project. The concept is simple: a sampler, two turntables, a mixer, effects, drums, percussions and singing. Performances with Karoline Körbel (dr / perc) and Claudia Nehls (voc) are a mixture of a DJ set, own productions and improvisations. With Marlow and Karoline Körbel coming to Halle as the ‹smaller crew› (DJ and percussions), the audience can expect an evening of electronic music that blends jazz, house and funk. DJ since 1994, style various electronic sounds, from jazz over house till groovy techno-house; house, deep house, minimal electronic and tech-house.

  • Tanzklub, 03.09.2004, 24:00

DJ SHAPEMOD

Shapemod, known as a member of Berlin based Terranova, is a DJ nightlife in Berlin can no longer be imagined without. The sets of the bootlegger and longstanding admirer of bastard pop are meanwhile legendary; on radio Web sites, the downloads of recordings of his ‹Urban Brew radio sessions› are record-breaking. Although it is difficult to describe the style of this internationally operating DJ, one could perhaps call it electro-freestyle-punk. One thing is for sure: Shapemod rocks – everywhere! Ch-Check it out!

  • common chaiselongue, 04.09.20014, 22:00

DJ SHIR KHAN

Shir Khan is constantly searching for genre-fusing sounds. He plays with the clash of musical clichés. «Highly sensitive kitsch» is what this is: a punk song by the ‹Stooges› fades into a Miami Bass track by ‹DJ Assault›, crossed with Harry Belafonte’s ‹Banana Boat›, who suddenly sounds like ‹Missy Elliot›. Shir Khan has just released his mix CD ‹Copyright Candies› – ‹Best of Bastard Pop›. His bootlegs, in which he mixes ‹Peaches› with the ‹Rolling Stones›, are extremely popular around the world. «The best bootlegs are like car accidents – usually horrible, but also strangely fascinating.»

DJ SLENDER WHITEMAN

One heart, one bass, 12 volts! Slender Whiteman travels with a portable micro dub soundsystem – laptop, keyboard, midi controller, amplifier, loudspeaker, battery and a solar panel. The soundsystem is a custom made unit which needs no extra power other than the sun and Jah. «An important part of the project was the attempt to bring music in public places which the commercial media doesn’t play. I think the mainstream media totally underestimates people’s tastes in music. So I find it sad that even the majority of (professional) buskers play only Beatles and Oasis. I perform my own tracks which are influenced by many genres like Dub, Glitch, Electro, Punk Rock, Bastard Pop and I also played recorded music by people which for me are total Pop Stars (this is meant as a compliment) like Pole, Hey O Hanson, Schlammpeitziger, Toots and the Maytals, Farben and Akufen…» Born 12.10.1970 in Bad Soden geboren. 1993-1997 Studies in Fine Art Photography at Glasgow School of Art. 2000-2001 Studies in Media Art at HfG Karlsruhe. since 2004 teacher for art and philosophy at Duncan of Jordanstone University Dundee, 2004 Participation at 50. Venice Bienial (Scotland Pavillion), lives and works in Glasgow / Scotland

  • Tanzklub, 4.09.2004, 24:00

DJane LN

Elektro Music Department, tags: Gigolo Records, disko b, Ultraschall

  • Tanzklub, 4.09.2004, 24:00

DJ AGUIRRE

DJ Aguirre can rightly call himself the ‹house and court DJ› of the Werkleitz Gesellschaft. In terms of style, the programme of the Farewell Party will be oriented along the lines of the Culture Copy Section of the biennial. So one can expect a lot of world beats and grooves, cover versions of well-known pop songs from Bengali masala kitchens, African rhythms vs. electronic klezmer, French chansons and remixed Argentine tango. Peter Zorn, born in 1967 in Traunstein, 1990 - 95 studies of free art in the film class of the Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig with Prof. Birgit Hein. Co-founder and since then chairman of the board of the Werkleitz Gesellschaft, in the managing committee of the 1st to 4th Werkleitz Biennale, member of the board of trustees of the 6th Werkleitz Biennale, since 1995 coordinator of the European Media Artists in Residence Exchange (EMARE) Programmes, lives and works as a freelance filmmaker, curator and media scientist in Werkleitz and Halle.

  • common chaiselongue, 05.09.20014, 22:00

Explore

Überveranstaltung

Common Property Party / DJs

Root Event

6. Werkleitz Biennale Common Property / Allgemeingut
Common Property Party / DJs
1. 9. bis 5. 9. 2004

BIGBORK & BEATNIK (2turn / Halle) feat. MC Amon (Cuba Crew / Leipzig)

Die Fusion verschiedener Spielarten der Clubmusik darf getrost als die homebase der Halleschen DJs Bigbork & Beatnik gelten. Fast fünf Jahre lang mixten beide als Residents der ‹clubzone› auf MDR Sputnik die monatliche Ration progressiver Radio-Kost. Ihre Vorliebe für außergewöhnliche Tracks prägt den unverwechselbaren Stil, der Jazz, Soul, Funk, Downtempo, Breakbeats, Drum’n’Bass und House Beats verschmilzt und zum Markenzeichen gefragter Clubabende wie etwa der ‹OPERA› avancierte. Hinzu kam in letzter Zeit verbaler Support von MC ‹No.1› Amon, der mit seinem Mic den Saal gehörig anheizt.

  • Tanzklub, 01.09.2004, 20:00

DJ GROUP.THEORY

VG WORT
z. Hd. Frau Gehrt
Goethestr. 49
D-80336 München
Betr.: Kartei-Nr. 9860701

Sehr geehrte Frau Gehrt,
Hiermit sende ich Ihnen eine ‹Einzelmeldung Wissenschaft›, verbunden mit der Bitte, diese bei den Ausschüttungen für Veröffentlichungen des Jahres 2005 zu berücksichtigen. Darüber hinaus bitte ich darum, mir erstens weitere normale Meldeformulare, zweitens die grünen Meldeformulare für die ‹Sonderverteilung Bibliothekstantieme› und drittens einen Infozettel (Melderichtlinie) bezüglich dieser Sonderverteilung zu zusenden.
Ich hoffe, dass die Angaben ausreichend sind und danke Ihnen für Ihre Bemühungen.

Mit freundlichem Gruß, group.theory@gmx.de

group.theory startete als symbolpolitisches Experiment und ist heute eine Schürze für Texte, Parties, Kunstprojekte, Spiele und Unterschriften. Dies kündigte sich 1999 erstmals an in der Ausstellung „missing fields“ (Kunsthalle Fridericianum, Kassel) des ‚Museum Werdender Kunst‘.

  • Tanzklub, 02.09.2004, 22:00

COVER BATTLE QUIZ

Aguirre und Ersatz batteln um die abgedrehteste Coverversion auf den Turntables. Und jede/r hat die Chance, das Repertoire der Nacht zu gewinnen. Wer kennt die Originalversion? Sind alle Tipps richtig, winkt die frisch gebrannte CD zum Mitnehmen.

  • Tanzklub, 02.09.2004, 24:00

DJ ERSATZ

DJ Ersatz legte erstmals in einem Wandschrank auf und traf dort einen Kompagnon, woraus in den folgenden Jahren die Kooperation ‹trax tv.› entstand, die durch Äther, verschiedene Surestreams und Semiclubs tourte, auf halbem Weg dem Viertelruhm abhanden kam und fortan nur noch vereinzelt und unter Ersatznamen anzutreffen ist. Heute, wie einst, scheint etwas House dem frühen Morgen sehr angemessen.

  • Tanzklub, 03.09.2004, 2:00

CHAISELONGUE

Das schönste im Leben sind die Pausen, zum ersten Mal war das in der Schule so und später – komm mit in die Gegenwart, bitte. Aus dem Wunsch, im kulturellen Nachtleben das Eigene zu finden, entstand der Club Chaiselongue als Ort der Möglichkeiten. Und so eine temporäre Zone, die sich nährt aus dem Spiel mit Wahrnehmung und dem Bedürfnis der Beteiligten, sich darauf einzulassen. Installationen mit mehr oder weniger Technik im Zusammenspiel mit Bass und Licht und einem ausgesuchten Programm im 14-tägigen Rhythmus. So wirkt oder funktioniert der Ort – und das echt, in dem Versuch zu verbinden, was das Definieren von Ausstellung und Party so nach sich zieht. Das ist Clubkultur. Während der Festivaltage bespielt die ‹Common Chaiselongue› eine Bar und einen Club im ersten Obergeschoss des Volksparks. DJs des Chaiselongue-Programms sind u. a.: construct, tadpole, zapotek, discounke

  • common chaiselongue, 03.09.2004, 22:00

MARLOW FEAT. KAROLINE KÖRBEL

Vor kurzem hat der Leipziger DJ und Produzent Marlow ein neues Projekt ins Leben gerufen. Das Konzept ist einfach: ein Sampler, zwei Plattenspieler, ein Mischpult, Effekte, ein Schlagzeug, Percussions und Gesang. Die Auftritte mit Karoline Körbel (dr / perc) und Claudia Nehls (voc) sind eine Mischung aus DJ-Set, eigenen Produktionen und Improvisationen. In Halle wird es in kleinerer Besetzung (DJ / Percussions) einen Abend mit elektronischer Musik irgendwo zwischen Jazz, House und Funk geben. DJ seit 1994, verschiedene stilrichtungen von elektronischem sound, von jazz über house bis groovy techno-house; house, deep house, minimal electronic und tech-house.

  • Tanzklub, 03.09.2004, 24:00

DJ SHAPEMOD

Shapemod, bekannt als Teil der Berliner Formation Terranova, ist als DJ aus dem Berliner Nachtleben nicht mehr wegzudenken. Die Sets des Bootleggers und Bastardpopfreundes erster Stunde sind mittlerweile legendär, Aufzeichnungen seiner ‹Urban Brew Radiosessions› brechen auf der Radiowebseite alle Downloadrekorde. Beschreiben lässt sich der Style des international agierenden DJs schwer, am ehesten noch mit Elektro-Freestyle-Punk. Eins steht aber fest: Shapemod rockt – überall! Ch-Check it out!

  • common chaiselongue, 04.09.20014, 22:00

DJ SHIR KHAN

Shir Khan ist ständig auf der Suche nach Genre-verschmelzen-den Sounds. Er spielt mit musikalischen Klischees, um diese gegeneinander aufzuwälzen. ‹Feinfühliger Kitsch› ist das: hier ein Punk-Song von den ‹Stooges›, der in einen Miami-Bass-Track von ‹Dj Assault› übergeht, gekreuzt mit Harry Belafontes ‹Banana Boat›, der jetzt nach ‹Missy Elliot› klingt. Gerade hat Shir Khan seine Mix-CD ‹Copyright Candies› – eine ‹Best of Bastard Pop› – veröffentlicht. Seine Bootlegs, in denen er ‹Peaches› mit den ‹Rolling Stones› vermischt, erfreuen sich großer Beliebtheit auf der ganzen Welt. „Die besten Bootlegs sind wie Autounfälle – meist abscheulich, aber auch von einer seltsamen Faszination.“

DJ SLENDER WHITEMAN

Ein Herz, ein Bass, 12 Volt! Slender Whiteman reist mit einem tragbaren Microdub-Soundsystem: Laptop, Keybord, Midi Controller, Verstärker, Lautsprecher, Batterie und Solarzellen. Das Soundsystem ist eine Spezialanfertigung, das keine andere Energie als Sonne und Jah braucht. «Ein wichtiger Teil des Projekts war der Versuch, Musik, die von kommerziellen Medien nicht gespielt wird, in öffentliche Räume zu tragen. Ich denke, die Mainstreammedien unterschätzen völlig den Musikgeschmack der Leute. Insofern finde ich es auch bedauerlich, dass selbst die meisten (professionellen) Straßenmusiker nur Beatles und Oasis spielen. Ich führe meine eigenen Tracks auf, die von vielen Richtungen wie Dub, Glitch, Electro, Punkrock, Bastard Pop inspiriert sind und ich lege auch Musik von Leuten auf, die für mich totale Popstars sind (das ist als Kompliment gemeint) wie Pole, Hey O Hanson, Schlammpeitziger, Toots and the Maytaly, Farben und Akufen… Am 12.10.1970 in Bad Soden geboren. 1993-1997 Studium der Fine Art Photography an der Glasgow School of Art. 2000-2001 Medienkunst Studium an der HfG Karlsruhe. Seit 2004 Kunst und Philosophy Lehrer an der Duncan of Jordanstone University Dundee. 2004 Teilnahme an der 50. Venedig Bienale (Scotland Pavillion). Lebt und arbeitet in Glasgow/Schottland.

  • Tanzklub, 4.09.2004, 24:00

DJane LN

kommt aus dem Umfeld rund um das Elektro Music Department, legt zwischen klassischem und Straßentechno auf und fährt mit den geknackten Fahrrädern der Deutschen Bahn durch Berlin. Nicht alles, was sie auflegt ist frei, aber, wie sie meint, hört die Freiheit bei der GEMA noch nicht auf. Weitere Stichworte: Gigolo Records, disko b und Ultraschall.

  • Tanzklub, 4.09.2004, 24:00

DJ AGUIRRE

DJ Aguirre kann sich wohl mit Recht als ‹Haus und Hof›-DJ der Werkleitz Gesellschaft bezeichnen. Stilistisch wird sich das Programm der Farewell-Party an der Culture Copy-Sektion der Biennale orientieren. Man darf also mit viel World-Beat und Grooves rechnen, Coverversionen bekannter Pop-Songs aus bengalischen Masala-Küchen, afrikanische Rhythmen vs. Electonic Klezmer, französische Chansons und argentinischer Tango remixed. Peter Zorn, geboren 1967 in Traunstein, 1990 - 95 Studium der Freien Kunst in der Filmklasse der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig bei Prof. Birgit Hein. Mitbegründer und seitdem Vorstandsvorsitzender der Werkleitz Gesellschaft, im Leitungsgremium der 1. bis 4. Werkleitz Biennale, im Kuratorium der 6. Werkleitz Biennale, seit 1995 Koordinator des European Media Artists in Residence Exchange (EMARE) Programmes, lebt und arbeitet als freischaffender Filmemacher, Kurator und Medienwissenschaftler in Werkleitz und Halle.

  • common chaiselongue, 05.09.20014, 22:00

Explore

Überveranstaltung