A Spiritual Journey

Root Event

A Spiritual Journey
DE 2006
A Spiritual Journey
A Spiritual Journey
A Spiritual Journey
A Spiritual Journey
A Spiritual Journey

“Of course a world beyond exists. The question is how far is it from the city centre and what are the opening hours.” Woody Allen

A Spiritual Journey is a humorous reminiscence about generations of travellers coming to India in search of spiritual enlightenment.

While the “renaissance of religions” acquires ever more dubious dogmatic and fundamentalist faces, I am interested in alternatives to faith besides those defined by the world religions. Equipped with a natural distrust for authorities and dogmas, I embark on a journey in search of more abstract and unorthodox religious or spiritual truths. Where better to find them, than in the land of gurus and gods: India!

I follow the footprints of others - braver spirits than mine - who embarked on similar journeys over 100 years ago. Today this path is used predominately by latecomers of the hippie generation. Always on the lookout for the true, inner “home(land)”.

The route leads me to South India and to Arunachala, the holy mountain of the Hindus, where it is said that Shiva appeared as a lingam of fire. At the place where the famous guru Ramana Maharshi meditated in a cave for 20 years and tried to define the real self with the question: “Who am I? Who is the one asking?” Until this day thousands of Western people travel to this place, preferably on a full moon night, in order to circle once around the mountain, to visit the Sri Ramanasramam or simply to join a nostalgic hippie rave.

The Headquarters of the Theosophical Society is located in the South of Madras. Its founding members Madame Blavatsky and General Olcott promoted a synthesis of Western occult and Hindu and Buddhist belief systems as early as 1875. Nowadays hardly anyone knows that many of the 20th century Western esoteric movements and spiritual leaders, from Rudolf Steiner to Aleister Crowley, were influenced by Theosophy. The goals of the Society can be summarised in three main points: creation of a universal brotherhood of mankind, regardless of race, skin colour, religion or social standing, a comparative study of the old world religions and the development of the dormant godly powers within humans.

The new Messiah proposed and chosen by the Theosophical Society, Jiddu Krishnamurti, dissolved his own theosophical order “Star of the East” in 1929 and renounced all forms of religious authority. At the Krishnamurti Foundation in Madras I find an open and above all quiet location for philosophical discussions amidst the loud and hectic life of the capital city of South India. Here I also meet people that I continue to run into during my spiritual journey. One destination on the route of “Western (Orientalist) seeker” is the city of the future:

Auroville. The city was designed for 50,000 inhabitants based on the vision of the French woman, Mira Alfassa, also known as Mother, who died in 1973. Auroville is meant to be a place for spiritual and material research following the principles of integral yoga formulated by the Indian guru Sri Aurobindo, the Mother‘s companion. Aurobindo did not so much have the exercise of the body in mind, popular in the West and known as hatha yoga. Rather, he was thinking about the process of enlightenment, an evolution of spirit and matter. Following the principles of “All Life is Yoga”, approximately 2,000 people from 35 nations live and work in Auroville. You can find anything the heart desires there from bio-dynamic water, solar energy, hatha yoga, ayurveda to salsa dance classes, horse riding and pizza.(But you should know that this is not really important).

Last but not least, the soul of Auroville as if it escaped a science fiction film: the matrimandir, the temple of the mother goddess, a golden oval. It serves free meditation and inspiration.

“All Life is Yoga”
Sounds good to me.
I wished my film, too, would be Yoga.
For that, it would need to concentrate just for a moment.
To deal with the now.
But “film is a visual memory.”
This film is already a memory of a journey.
“A spiritual journey.”
My journey.
Or is the journey of someone else?
“After all, who am I?”
“Who is it that asks this question?”
And who is the observer?
“Is the observer the observed?”
Is this actually YOUR journey?
Who are YOU, really?
“The Truth is a Pathless Land.”
Jiddu Krishnamurti

DE 2006, Video, 30 min

Explore

Curator

Überveranstaltung

A Spiritual Journey

Root Event

A Spiritual Journey
DE 2006
A Spiritual Journey
A Spiritual Journey
A Spiritual Journey
A Spiritual Journey
A Spiritual Journey

„Natürlich gibt es eine jenseitige Welt. Die Frage ist nur, wie weit ist sie von der Innenstadt entfernt und wie lange hat sie geöffnet.“ Woody Allen

A Spiritual Journey ist eine augenzwinkernde Reminiszenz an Generationen von Indienreisenden auf der Suche nach spiritueller Erkenntnis.

Während die „Renaissance der Religionen“ immer dubiosere dogmatische und fundamentalistische Blüten treibt, interessiere ich mich dafür, welche Glaubensalternativen es abseits der Weltreligionen gibt. Bewaffnet mit einem natürlichen Misstrauen gegenüber Autoritäten und Dogmen mache ich mich auf die Suche nach abstrakteren und unorthodoxeren religiösen oder spirituellen Wahrheiten. Und wo kann man sie besser finden als in dem Land der Gurus und Götter: Indien!

Ich folge dabei den Wegen, die Andere, wage mutigere Geister als ich, schon vor über 100 Jahren einschlugen und die heute vornehmlich von den Nachzüglern der Hippiegeneration bereist werden. Immer auf der Suche nach der wahren, inneren „Heimat“.

Die Route führt mich nach Südindien und auf den Arunachala, den heiligen Berg der Hindus, auf dem die indische Gottheit Shiva als Feuersäule erschienen sein soll. Eben dort, wo der berühmte Guru Ramana Maharshi 20 Jahre in einer Höhle meditierte und versuchte das eigene Selbst zu definieren durch die Frage: „Wer bin ich? Wer ist der Fragende?“ Noch heute reisen jährlich Tausende von Westlern vermehrt zur Vollmondnacht dorthin, um einmal um den Berg zu zirkulieren, das Sri Ramanasramam zu besuchen oder sich einfach einem nostalgischen Hippie-Rave hinzugeben.

Im Süden Madras befindet sich der Hauptsitz der Theosophischen Gesellschaft, deren Gründer Madame Blavatsky und General Olcott bereits 1875 eine Synthese zwischen westlichem Okkultismus und hinduistischen und buddhistischen Glaubensvorstellungen verbreiteten. Kaum jemand weiß heute noch, dass viele westliche esoterische Bewegungen und spirituelle Führer des 20. Jahrhunderts, von Rudolf Steiner bis zu Aleister Crowley, von der Theosophie beeinflusst waren. Ihre Ziele benennt die Gesellschaft in drei wesentlichen Grundsätzen: Der Bildung einer universalen Bruderschaft der Menschen, ohne Unterscheidung von Rasse, Hautfarbe, Religion oder sozialer Stellung, dem vergleichenden Studium der alten Weltreligionen und der Entwicklung der latenten göttlichen Kräfte im Menschen.

Der von den Leitern der Theosophischen Gesellschaft prophezeite und ausgewählte neue Messias Jiddu Krishnamurti löste 1929 seinen eigenen theosophischen Orden „Star of the East“ auf und wendete sich gegen sämtliche Formen religiöser Autorität. Bei der Krishnamurti Foundation in Madras finde ich einen offenen und vor allem ruhigen Ort für philosophische Gespräche innerhalb des lauten Trubels der „Hauptstadt Südindiens“. Ich treffe Menschen, denen ich auf meiner spirituellen Reise immer wieder begegnen werde.

Auf der Reiseroute der suchenden „Morgenlandfahrer“ befindet sich auch die „Stadt der Zukunft“: Auroville. Eine für 50.000 Einwohner angelegte Stadt, die auf der Vision der 1973 verstorbenen Französin Mira Alfassa, genannt „Mutter“ beruht. Sie soll einen Ort der spirituellen und materiellen Forschung darstellen, beruhend auf den Prinzipien des „integralen Yoga“, wie sie der Weggefährte Mutters, der indische Guru Sri Aurobindo formulierte. Damit meinte er nicht die Körperübungen des im Westen besonders beliebten Hatha Yogas, sondern den Erkenntnisprozess über die Evolution des Geistes und der Materie. Nach der Devise „All Life is Yoga“ leben und arbeiten bislang knapp 2.000 Menschen aus 35 Nationen in Auroville. Es gibt dort alles, was das Herz begehrt: Bio-dynamisiertes Wasser, Solarenergie, Hatha Yoga, Ayurveda, Salsakurse, Ponyreiten und Pizza. (Aber man sollte wissen: Das ist nicht das Wesentliche). Und schließlich, die Seele Aurovilles selbst, wie aus einem Science Fiction Film entsprungen: das Matrimandir, der Tempel der göttlichen Mutter, ein goldenes Oval, das der freien Meditation und Inspiritation dient.

„Alles Leben ist Yoga.“
Das klingt sehr gut für mich.
Ich wünschte, mein Film wäre auch Yoga.
Dafür müsste er sich auf den Augenblick konzentrieren.
Vom Jetzt handeln.
Aber „Film ist ein visuelles Gedächtnis.“
Dieser Film ist bereits eine Erinnerung an eine Reise.
„Eine spirituelle Reise.“
Meine Reise.
Oder doch die eines anderen?
„Wer bin ich überhaupt?“
„Wer ist es, der diese Frage stellt?“
„Und wer ist der Betrachter?“
„Ist der Betrachter das Betrachtete?“
Ist es etwa DEINE Reise?
Wer bist DU eigentlich?
„The Truth is a Pathless Land.“
(Die Wahrheit ist ein wegloses Land.)
Jiddu Krishnamurti

DE 2006, Video, 30 min

Explore

Kurator

Überveranstaltung